Tarleton rodeo teams shine in Odessa College spring debut


Wednesday, February 26, 2020

STEPHENVILLE, Texas — Both Tarleton State University rodeo teams dominated last weekend at the Odessa College Rodeo and improved their standings in the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association Southwest Region.

Twenty-eight competitors represented Tarleton in the short round after winning eight of nine events in the opening round of competition.

The Tarleton women won the team title at OC, led by six timed-event participants who finished in the top four, including Maddy Dickens, who claimed both the barrel racing and all-around championship titles.

Lariat Larner also contributed to the women’s charge up the leaderboard. Her two-head 12.6 was good for first in goat tying.

Bliss Bolton ran the barrel pattern twice in 29.29 seconds for a fourth overall, and teammates Rickie Engesser, Rayme Jones and Kyndall Jones finished fifth, seventh and 11th respectively.

Makayla Boisjoli took second in breakaway roping, taking two head in 5 seconds. Teammate Maddy Deerman finished third overall after a first-place 2.4 in the long round. Caitlin Park, Maddy Dickens and Timber Allenbrand finished sixth, seventh and ninth in turn.

Rickie Engesser was fourth in goat tying, tying two head in 15.2 seconds. Teammate Timber Kelly finished ninth overall.

In men’s competition, Tarleton’s Haven Meged flashed an 8.6-second time to win the tie-down roping average, then turned in an 8.3 in the finals for the championship.

Brett Stuart captured another event crown, posting a combined 8.5 seconds to win the steer wrestling average. He also teamed with partner Reed Boos of Cisco College for sixth in team roping. Tarleton’s Dallas Owen was seventh in team roping, and Jhett Trenary was eighth.

Teammate Ty Allred finished fifth overall in steer wrestling after his third-place finish in the championship round.

Tarleton’s rough stock specialists captured critical points in Odessa.

Jake Barnes took second with 150 points on two head of saddle bronc horses, and Lucas Macza, Jake Vance and Rhett Fanning finished third, fourth and fifth overall. Brody Cress also qualified for the championship round in the event.

Teammate Bodee Lammers scored 137 points on two head of bareback horses, finishing fourth overall. Leighton Berry also qualified for the championship round.

Bull rider Riley Harris took second with 158 points on two rides, and Jay Jenson was sixth overall in the event.

Both teams head to Sweetwater March 26-28 for an NIRA stop hosted by Ranger College.

Tarleton, founding member of The Texas A&M University System, provides a student-focused, value-driven education marked by academic innovation and a dedication to transform today’s scholars into tomorrow’s leaders. It offers degree programs to more than 13,000 students at Stephenville, Fort Worth, Waco, Midlothian, RELLIS Academic Alliance in Bryan, and online, emphasizing real-world learning experiences that address societal needs while maintaining its core values of tradition, integrity, civility, excellence, leadership and service.

Contact: Phil Riddle
[email protected]

A founding member of The Texas A&M System, Tarleton State is breaking records — in enrollment, research, scholarship, athletics, philanthropy and engagement — while transforming the lives of nearly 17,000 students in Stephenville, Fort Worth, Waco, Bryan and online. True to Tarleton’s values of excellence, integrity and respect, academic programs emphasize real world learning and address regional, state and national needs.