Tarleton Research VP Named to APLU Executive Committee

STEPHENVILLE, Texas — Tarleton State University’s Dr. Rupa Iyer has been elected to the Executive Committee Class of 2023 by the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities Council on Research (COR) Executive Committee Class of 2023.

The APLU Council on Research Nominations Committee reviewed election results and, with insight from the election totals and APLU’s emphasis on inclusive leadership, appointed members to the Executive Committee.

“I am honored to be appointed to the APLU’s COR Executive Committee, and I look forward to representing Tarleton and contributing to the development of COR agenda, activities and programs,” she said.

Dr. Iyer, Tarleton’s inaugural Vice President for Research, Innovation and Economic Development, may seek a full three-year term on the committee after her one-year appointment ends.

A founding member of The Texas A&M System, Tarleton State is breaking records — in enrollment, research, scholarship, athletics, philanthropy and engagement — while transforming the lives of more than 16,000 students in Stephenville, Fort Worth, Waco, Bryan and online. True to Tarleton’s values of excellence, integrity and respect, academic programs emphasize real world learning and address regional, state and national needs.