Tarleton chapter of Kappa Delta Pi Education Honor Society inducts 18

Kappa Delta Pi, Pi Iota Chapter Induction Ceremony

Kappa Delta Pi, Pi Iota Chapter Induction Ceremony

Thursday, December 8, 2016

STEPHENVILLE, Texas—Kappa Delta Pi, Pi Iota Chapter, the International Education Honor Society at Tarleton State University, welcomed 18 new members in today’s induction ceremony.

The ceremony was conducted by Kappa Delta Pi’s executive council co-presidents, Heahter Kraemer and Cory McCray, and Dr. Laurie Hawke and Julie Ward, chapter counselors.

The society inducts only individuals who have exhibited the ideals of scholarship, integrity and service as well as a commitment to excellence in teaching and its allied professions. Selection as a member of Kappa Delta Pi is based on high academic achievement, a commitment to education as a career and a professional attitude that assures steady growth in the profession.

Requirements for membership include a minimum 3.0 grade point average (GPA) overall for undergraduates and eligibility for admission into the Teacher Education Program at Tarleton. Graduates must meet a minimum 3.25 GPA overall.

Tarleton students initiated into membership of Kappa Delta Pi, Pi Iota Chapter, are: Tabitha Adams, Maria Beasley, Callie Childers, Caitlin Cole, Cristina De La Peña, Meagan Graves, Kalin Guinn, Victoria Hampton, Ashley Johnson, Contessa Lake, Shannon Leahy, Madison Leck, Vanesa Medrano, Ashley Obudzinski, Courtney Partain, Allison Potts, Bradon Pruett and Laura Velazquez.

Kappa Delta Pi International Honor Society in Education was founded in 1911 at the University of Illinois to foster excellence in education and promote fellowship among those dedicated to teaching. The founders chose the name from the Greek words knowledge, duty and power. Members include Albert Einstein, George Washington Carver, Eleanor Roosevelt and Margaret Mead. For more than a century, the society has grown to an initiated membership that exceeds 1.2 million.

The Pi Iota chapter at Tarleton was chartered on Nov. 30, 1982, and has initiated 1,270 members since that time.

Tarleton, a member of The Texas A&M University System, provides a student-focused, value-driven educational experience marked by academic innovation and exemplary service, and dedicated to transforming students into tomorrow’s professional leaders. With campuses in Stephenville, Fort Worth, Waco, Midlothian and online, Tarleton engages with its communities to provide real-world learning experiences and to address societal needs while maintaining its core values of integrity, leadership, tradition, civility, excellence and service.


Contact: Julie Ward – Chapter Counselor
[email protected]

A founding member of The Texas A&M University System, Tarleton is breaking records — in enrollment, research, scholarship, athletics, philanthropy and engagement — while transforming the lives of more than 15,000 students in Stephenville, Fort Worth, Waco, Midlothian, A&M RELLIS at Bryan and online. True to Tarleton’s values of excellence, integrity, and respect, academic programs emphasize real world learning and address regional, state and national needs.