Tarleton Campus Leaders Recognized at Annual Awards Presentation

STEPHENVILLE, Texas — Tarleton State University campus leaders, student achievers and community supporters were honored April 14 during the annual Leadership and Service Awards presentation held at the Barry B. Thompson Student Center in Stephenville.

Hosted by Tarleton’s Center for Leadership, Service and Outreach, the ceremony spotlights those who contributed to a successful year.

The John Tarleton Spirit Award — named for the university’s founder — honors senior students who exemplify the Tarleton spirit through involvement and leadership. Recipients this year are Alexandra Sottosanti, Lexi Beets, Aspen Hoover, Ashlyn Blazek, Blair Phillips, Breanna Briggs, Brianna Craigie, Dorothy Bosley, Emma Halcomb, Jayden Davis, Kendyl Croft and Sarah Ahmadi. 

Tarleton First Awards, presented to first-generation students who have demonstrated an unwavering determination to overcome barriers in pursuit of an education, went to Lectsuli Videa and Juan Hernandez.

Other top awards bear the name of individuals who have had a positive impact on the university.

W.O. and Florene Trogdon have two awards named in their honor, for individual service and organizational service. Dr. Trogdon was Tarleton’s 12th President. This year’s Individual Service Award was presented to Julia Forbes. Alpha Phi Omega received the Organizational Service Award.

This year’s May Jones Advisor of the Year Award, for exemplary leadership and dedication, recognized Dr. Ebony Lang, advisor for the Black Student Union and the Social Work Club. The Earl Rudder Award for commitment to a job well done went to Blaine Henze and Michaela Dennis, and Alpha Phi Omega was named the Colonel Will L. Tate Organization of the Year. 

Freshman Leadership and Sophomore Leadership awards annually go to underclassmen who are actively involved in all aspects of campus life. This year’s outstanding freshmen are Jesus Hernandez and Dimitra Poulos. The outstanding sophomores are Joel Pennington and Isabella Becerra.

The Graduate Student Leadership Award recognizes Tarleton students who are working on their postgraduate degrees. Margaret Tippie and Ronni Fisher received the 2023 honor.

The Law Office of Gregory K. Simmons earned the 2023 Sen. Robert J. Glasgow Award; Katherine Vernon was named the Inclusive Leadership Award winner; and Jasmine Edwards was the Advancing Equity and Belonging awardee.

The 2023 Student Accessibility Rising Star Newcomer is Brionna Moore; Madison Sykes claimed the Student Accessibility Intern Leadership Award; and the Student Accessibility Graduate Leadership Award went to Eram Khan.

K.C. Morgan, Ella Nelson and Garrett Drolet were named winners of the Lance Zimmerman Department of Student Involvement and Family Relations Student Involvement Award.

Ty Bachtel, Haleigh Solano, Garrett Blevins, Makinzie Tomascik, Bailey Umphress, Chris Thormeyer, Danielle Schroeder, Quinton Artho and Many Kajs were recognized as Purple Poo graduates.

Also named at the ceremony were Breanna Briggs, Amber Cunningham and Cole Taylor as Greek Persons of the Year. 

Other awards and their recipients:

Impact: Jeffrey Harz and Samantha Galbraith

Program of the Year: Tarleton Round Up

Advocate: Nayeli Medina

Alumni Association Keeper of the Gates: Daniel Amador

Wanda Mercer Legacy: Courtney Thom and Alexis Turbeville

Leadership in Athletics: Isaiah LaQue

Student Media Excellence in Journalism: Ashton Cox

Student Media Leaving a Legacy: Kylan Mills

Student Media Leadership: Blair Phillips

Student Media Innovation Award: Alexa Guadian

Student Media Rising Star: Lauren Czechowicz

Student Media Community Outreach: Izzy Guy

Student Media Artist of the Year: Sklar Ronalder

Residence Life Leaders of the Year: Ashley Martinez, Calvary Asher Dittfurth and Jaci Jackson

Student Engagement: Kayla Key

Exceptional Student Experience: Marco Salazar

Steadfast Student: Blake Smith

Truest Texan: Alexis Beets

A founding member of The Texas A&M System, Tarleton State is breaking records — in enrollment, research, scholarship, athletics, philanthropy and engagement — while transforming the lives of more than 16,000 students in Stephenville, Fort Worth, Waco, Bryan and online. True to Tarleton’s values of excellence, integrity and respect, academic programs emphasize real world learning and address regional, state and national needs.