Annual Free Holiday Show Planned at Tarleton Planetarium

STEPHENVILLE, Texas — The Tarleton State University Planetarium’s most popular holiday show, “The Mystery of the Christmas Star,” will run through Dec. 20. It investigates possible dates for the birth of Christ and examines recorded sightings of significant astronomical events at the time.

Planetarium visitors will see how signs in the sky could have been remarkable enough to cause the wise men to travel across the desert to Bethlehem, likely from the southern tip of the Arabian Peninsula.

Show schedule:

Thursday, Dec. 1, 7 p.m.

Monday, Dec. 5, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, Dec. 7, 7 p.m.

Thursday, Dec. 8, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 10, 11 a.m. and 1 p.m.

Monday, Dec. 12, 1 and 7 p.m.

Thursday. Dec. 15, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 17, 11 a.m. and 1 p.m.

Monday, Dec. 19, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, Dec. 20, 7 p.m.

The planetarium is in the Lamar Johanson Science Building on the Stephenville campus. Seating is limited to 86 guests per show; admission is free. The box office will open one hour before each show. Park after 6 p.m. in lot P-22/P-23, which is accessible from North Rome Street, across from the Recreation Sports Center.

To schedule school groups, clubs or other gatherings, call 254-968-0523 or email [email protected]. Notice is required for private screenings.

A founding member of The Texas A&M University System, Tarleton is breaking records — in enrollment, research, scholarship, athletics, philanthropy and engagement — while transforming the lives of more than 15,000 students in Stephenville, Fort Worth, Waco, Midlothian, A&M RELLIS at Bryan and online. True to Tarleton’s values of excellence, integrity, and respect, academic programs emphasize real world learning and address regional, state and national needs.