Texas Physics Consortium (TPC) is a group of Physics Departments that pool faculty expertise and institutional resources to provide access to quality upper-level undergraduate and graduate physics courses. The TPC use of pooled resources provides their students with the wide range of upper level physics courses usually available at only large institutions while maintaining the intimate student-faculty interaction of a small department. The Joint BS Physics Degree is a single curriculum jointly administered by all full member institutions of the Texas Physics Consortium and overseen by the Texas Physics Consortium Council of Dean’s under authority of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. All institutions in the TPC are SACS accredited and the Joint BS Degree is a Joint Venture under the rules of SACS.

Students can pursue the Joint Physics degree by registering as a physics major at any member institution and can transfer between member institutions and still obtained the degree. As a SACS Joint Venture, all full member institutions in the TPC jointly award the student’s diploma upon successful completion of the program.

Joint Degree Requirements

Required Physics Courses – 40 Hours

  • University Physics I – 4 hrs
  • University Physics II – 4 hrs
  • Modern Physics – 3 hrs
  • Mechanics – 3 hrs
  • Electromagnetism – 3 hrs
  • Thermodynamics – 3 hrs
  • Advanced Lab – 3 hrs
  • Quantum – 3 hrs
  • Nuclear – 3 hrs
  • Physics Research Project – 1 hr
  • Physics Research Seminar – 1 hr
  • TPC Adv. Physics Electives – 6 hrs
  • Math Methods for Physicists – 3 hrs

Required Math & Computer Science Courses – 18 Hours

  • Calculus I – 4 hrs
  • Calculus II – 4 hrs
  • Calculus III – 4 hrs
  • Differential Equations – 3 hrs
  • Computer Science – 3 hrs