Society of Physics Students

The Society of Physics Students (SPS) is a professional organization composed of physics majors and other students interested in the field of physics.

The Tarleton SPS chapter serves as an educational resource to help students succeed in their physics course work and to increase the visibility and size of the physics at Tarleton State University. During the academic year, the Tarleton SPS chapter hosts a variety of activities that members can participate including field trips, physics colloquium by both local and visiting Physicists, parties, recruiting, and science outreach activities for high school and middle school students. Follow us on Facebook using the link icon. Look at our Facebook page to see our latest activities!

PresidentEric (Scott) Hall
Vice PresidentJack Erspamer
SGA Reps 
Risk Management 

National Awards:

2018 – Distinguished Chapter

2017 – Distinguished Chapter

2016 – Distinguished Chapte

2015 – Distinguished Chapter

2014 – Notable Chapter

2013 – Outstanding Chapter

SPS “Physics is Phun” Demo Team

Annually, the Tarleton SPS group along with Tarleton Physics faculty put on several physics magic shows for K-12 schools, the community, and various student groups (Boy/Girl scouts, science camps, etc) throughout Erath and neighboring counties. In Spring 2018, Tarleton SPS organized and hosted a demo show at the Spring State Physics Meeting put on by SPS groups from across Texas.

For more information, you can look on the Physics is Phun Demo Page.

SPS T-Shirt for Sale -$15 + $3 Shipping:

  • Order Form

SPS Lounge

The SPS Lounge provides a place for members to study and eat together, discuss physics, and socialize. It is located in Room 103 on the first floor of the Science Building and after hour access is available to all members through swipe card or key access. We have installed multiple blue lines for network access and will be installing five computers for studying shortly. We have a main computer with Internet access connected to a projector for presentations and videos.

Meetings and Colloquiums are held through out the semester.

Students interested in joining Tarleton’s SPS chapter should contact Dr. Michael Hibbs or one of the other physics faculty. 

Student Resources

Physics Videos

Sigma Pi Sigma: The Physics Honor Society

2019 Induction Ceremony – Date Not Yet Determined

Within the Society of Physics Students (SPS) is housed Sigma Pi Sigma, the national physics honor society, which elects members on the basis of outstanding academic achievement. This unique two-in-one society operates within the American Institute of Physics, an umbrella organization for ten other professional science societies. Sigma Pi Sigma exists to honor outstanding scholarship in physics; to encourage interest in physics among students at all levels; to promote an attitude of service of its members towards their fellow students, colleagues, and the public; to provide a fellowship of persons who have excelled in physics. Founded in 1921, Sigma Pi Sigma is a member honor society of the Association of College Honor Societies. The society has some 75,000 historical members.

Election to Sigma Pi Sigma is a lifetime membership. Sigma Pi Sigma chapters are restricted to colleges and universities of recognized standing that offer a strong physics major. The chapters receive into membership undergraduate and graduate students, faculty members, and a few others in closely related fields. Students elected to membership must attain high standards of general scholarship and outstanding achievement in physics. Undergraduate candidates must be in the upper one-third of their class in general scholarship to meet the minimum standard that chapters may use. A higher minimum average is often established for physics courses. Undergraduate candidates must have completed at least three semesters of full-time college work and at least three semester courses in physics that can be credited toward a physics major. Graduate students and faculty members may be elected at any time. Students who are not physics majors can be elected, provided that they meet the standards and have demonstrated an interest in physics. Physicists in industry and government laboratories, as well as secondary school physics teachers, can be elected as honorary members on the basis of their professional record.