Skip to page content


Award Levels

This year staff awards have been expanded to include new division-level awards which will act as the preliminary selection process for the university-level awards. Winners of the division-level staff awards will be placed into the pool for the university-level staff awards. The open nomination period will be held each fall and nominations are submitted online. Supporting documentation, such as letters of recommendation or evidence of work, is optional and may be uploaded to the nomination form. Staff members who have received a university-level award within the last three years are not eligible for nomination for that same award. They may, however, be nominated for a different award if the nomination criteria apply. A list of prior recipients is located here. 

Division-Level Awards

Award winners will be chosen in each category to represent each of the four division-level groups. The division-level groups are as follows:

  1. Finance and Administration Staff Pool
  2. Student Affairs Staff Pool
  3. Athletics, Institutional Advancement, External Operations, University Relations, and Enrollment Management Staff Pool
  4. Academic Affairs Staff Pool

University-Wide Awards

The division-level award winners from each group will form the pool of nominees for the university-wide awards. Division-level award winners are selected by a three-person subcommittee external to the division. Winners are announced early spring. University wide award winners are selected by the University Staff Award Selection Committee and announced at the Annual Faculty/Staff Award Banquet late spring.

Award Recognition

  • Division-level award winners will each receive a $500 one-time award(before taxes and other required deductions) and one paid day off to be taken within 12 months of the award in accordance with the Administrative Leave section of System Regulation 31.03.03, Leave of Absence With Pay. Notification, announcement, gifts and celebratory activities will be arranged by each respective division for their division-level award winners.
  • Each university-wide award recipient will receive a $1,500 one-time award (before taxes and other require deductions) in addition to their division-level award and will be presented with their awards at the Annual Faculty & Staff Awards Banquet in the spring each year.
  • Previous Award Winners


  1. Nominees must be a Tarleton State University staff member employed in a full-time budgeted position. (An employee who holds a faculty assignment or appointment is eligible as long as they are not assigned a faculty classification as defined by The Texas A&M University System pay plan.)
  2. Employees who have retired during the year of the award are eligible for nomination.
  3. Nominees must be in good standing with their department and the University as evidenced by a current satisfactory performance evaluation.
  4. Employees at or above the vice president or equivalent level are not eligible for nomination. The associate or assistant vice president positions are eligible for nomination.
  5. Self-nominations are not accepted