Skip to page content

O. A. Grant Teaching Award

The O. A. Grant Teaching Award recognizes Tarleton faculty members who have had a profound effect on the lives and careers of Tarleton students. The award is named for Dr. O.A. Grant, who joined the Tarleton faculty in 1948 and served as head of the Department of Social Sciences from 1967 to 1976. He was the first Tarleton faculty member to receive the Piper Award for outstanding teaching.  Six recipients are recognized, one from each academic college. The recipients of the O.A. Grant Teaching Award from each academic college will form the pool of nominees for the Jack and Louise Arthur Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Demonstrated record of exceptional and innovative instruction;
  • Full-time faculty appointment (no administrative duties);
  • Three years teaching experience at Tarleton State University;
  • Must not have received this award within the past three years; and,
  • Individuals may not self-nominate