Skip to page content

Jack and Louise Arthur Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching

The Jack and Louise Arthur Award for Excellence in Teaching is given annually to honor effective and dedicated teachers at Tarleton State University. This prestigious award was instituted in 1983 under the former title of "Distinguished Service Award". It was renamed in 1989 in honor of Jack and Louise Arthur, who were true patrons of education. One faculty member is recognized from the university community who exemplifies excellence in university teaching.

The recipients of the O.A. Grant Teaching Award from each academic college will form the pool of nominees for the Jack and Louise Arthur Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Evidence of exemplary and innovative instructional practices;
  • Dedication to teaching and learning;
  • Evidence of recognition of effective teaching practices by peers and colleagues;
  • Five years of service at Tarleton State University;
  • Full-time faculty appointment (no administrative duties); and,
  • Must not have received this award within the past five years