Leadership & Service Award recipients announced at 17th annual ceremony

Leadership & Service Awards

Tarleton State University

Monday, April 29, 2013

STEPHENVILLE, Texas—Campus leaders, student achievers and community supporters were honored Friday evening during the 17th annual Leadership and Service Awards Ceremony at Tarleton State University.

Hosted by the Division of Student Life at Tarleton, the ceremony recognizes those who contributed to the success of another school year. A number of special awards have been created by Student Services to honor not only the student body, but community and civic leaders.

Nominations for the awards were made in March and more than 100 Tarleton students were recognized for their involvement in activities on the Tarleton campus and in the Stephenville community.

One of the more coveted student awards is the John Tarleton Spirit Award. Named in honor of the University’s founder, this honors juniors, seniors or graduate students who best exemplify the spirit of Tarleton through involvement, participation and leadership. Recipients of this year’s John Tarleton Spirit Award include: Tayler Atkins, Lydia Bjork, Kaylee Carlile, Colby Goodman, Somya Gupta, Jay Johnson, Emma Jones, Brooke King, Samantha Landers, Anthony Linder, Mattie McClean and Hannah Miller.

Among the other top awards are several which have been named in honor individuals who have had an impact on Tarleton past and present.

The Senator Robert Glasgow Community award is named after a Tarleton alumnus and longtime member of the Texas Legislature. It is presented to a community business, organization, agency or leader who over the years has dedicated time and resources to supporting and enhancing student life at Tarleton. This year’s recipient is Dr. C. Richard Frazier, MD, of Stephenville Medical & Surgical.

Dr. W.O. and Florence Trogdon have two awards named in their honor, for Individual and Organizational Service. Dr. Trogdon served as Tarleton’s 12th president. This year’s Individual Service award was presented to Hannah Miller, who demonstrated outstanding contributions in the area of service to the campus and community. The Organizational Service award went to Texans Against Cancer and Sigma Chi Fraternity, who in the past year demonstrated those same traits.

The May Jones Advisor of the Year award is presented to an advisor with exemplary leadership and dedication to his or her organizations. This person serves as a role model to all students as well as other advisors. Jones was a longtime member of the Tarleton faculty and served as sponsor to countless campus organizations. This year’s recipient is Kari Lewis, who serves as advisor to the Tarleton Ambassadors.

Honoring one of Tarleton’s Distinguished Alumnus, the Col. Will Tate Organization of the Year award is presented to the organization that has dedicated itself to the development of individual members as well as making a difference in student life at Tarleton. This year’s recipient is Kappa Delta Rho Fraternity.

The Program of the Year award recognizes the organization that conducted the most creative and innovative activity or program during the current academic year. The program should impact the participants in a way that is creative, educational and or entertaining. Successful planning, promoting and implementation are important considerations as well as carrying out goals and benefiting the campus community. Receiving Program of the Year honors were the members of Phi Mu Sorority, who hosted “Songfest”.

Freshman and Sophomore Participation awards are made to two underclassmen who are most actively involved in all aspects of campus life. This year’s outstanding freshman award was presented to Lura Rylant and the outstanding sophomore award went to Keauno Perez.

The sisters of Alpha Gamma Delta Sorority received this year’s Award for Fraternal Excellence, which is presented to the nationally affiliated Greek fraternity or sorority at Tarleton that symbolizes the excellence of the Greek system.

Below is a complete list of Leadership and Service Award winners announced at the 2012 ceremony:

Student Life Award
Felix Salmeron

Freshman Participation
Lura Rylant

Sophomore Leadership
Keauno Perez

Volunteer of the Year
Ashley Noblin and Delta Zeta Sorority

Glasgow Community Award
Dr. C. Richard Frazier of Stephenville Medical & Surgical

Trogdon Individual Service
Hannah Miller

Trogdon Organizational Service
Sigma Chi Fraternity and Texans Against Cancer

Program of theYear
Songfest by Phi Mu Sorority

May Jones Advisor of the Year
Kari Lewis, advisor for the Tarleton Ambassadors

Fraternal Excellence
Alpha Gamma Delta Sorority

Greek Man of the Year
Anthony Linder, Lambda Chi Alpha Fraternity

Greek Woman of the Year
Lauren Light, Delta Zeta Sorority

Organization of the Year
Kappa Delta Rho Fraternity

Wellness Individual
Breezey Clark

Wellness Organizational
Delta Zeta Sorority

Impact Award
Hall Leadership Team

Excellence in Diversity Programming
International Student Organization

Mercer Legend Award
Raul Carrillo and Scott Harrison

John Tarleton Spirit Awards
Tayler Atkins, Lydia Bjork, Kaylee Carlile, Colby Goodman, Somya Gupta, Jay Johnson, Emma Jones, Brooke King, Samantha Landers, Anthony Linder, Mattie McClean and Hannah Miller


Tarleton State University
A member of The Texas A&M University System

Contact: Kurt Mogonye

Facebook Twitter

Leadership & Service Award recipients announced at 17th annual ceremony - Media Relations - Tarleton State University