Communication prof receives PRSA award

Dr Sarah Maben

Tarleton State University

Monday, April 29, 2013

STEPHENVILLE, Texas—Dr. Sarah Maben, assistant professor in communication studies, was awarded a 2013 Worthy Award by the Greater Fort Worth Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) on April 25 in Fort Worth.

The Worthy Award was in the academic-refereed publication category for Maben’s research on student-run public relations firms on U.S. college campuses.

This is the second year for the awards program, which honors excellence in public relations and strategic communication. The Fort Worth chapter is one of a few PRSA chapters to include academicians in its yearly awards program. The academic categories were judged by professors at the Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Oklahoma.

“Being named a finalist was a great feeling,” Maben said. “And receiving the Worthy Award was an added bonus.”

Maben joined Tarleton State University in 2011 and teaches public relations and journalism courses. She is a board member for the Texas Social Media Research Institute, editor for The Journal of Social Media in Society, and adviser for the Tarleton chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists.


Tarleton State University
A member of The Texas A&M University System

Contact: Joe Michael Feist

Facebook Twitter

Communication prof receives PRSA award - Media Relations - Tarleton State University