Students receive Texas Intercollegiate Press Association awards

TIPA Awards

Tarleton State University

Monday, April 22, 2013

STEPHENVILLE, Texas—Students from the Department of Student Publications recently attended the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association conference in Fort Worth and came back with a handful of accolades.

The Grassburr, Tarleton State University’s yearbook, won a total of 11 awards for its 2012 publication, including placing third in overall excellence. Judges’ comments called the Grassburr “classic” with “great consistency of theme.”

Additional awards included cover design, sports package, opening package and various photo categories. Tarleton competed with universities from all across the state including Rice University, Mary Hardin-Baylor and Sul Ross.

The Grassburr is such a treasured tradition at Tarleton and it’s nice for it to be recognized on a state level,” said Caleb Chapman, director of Student Publications. “The students, both at the Grassburr and The J-TAC, put in countless hours and have so much pride in what they do. Tarleton should be proud of their work.”

During the conference, Tarleton students also participated in live competitions. The J-TAC’s Clifford Jones won third place for sports photography during the on-site contests.

The Grassburr yearbook was first published in 1916 and The J-TAC was first printed in 1919. Digital archives are available through the Dick Smith Library database found at


Tarleton State University
A member of The Texas A&M University System

Contact: Division of Student Life, Caleb Chapman

Facebook Twitter

Students receive Texas Intercollegiate Press Association awards - Media Relations - Tarleton State University