Tarleton's Delta Phi Epsilon Sorority chapter receives charter

Delta Phi Epsilon Charter Ceremony

Tarleton State University

Monday, April 15, 2013

STEPHENVILLE, Texas—The Tarleton chapter of Delta Phi Epsilon Sorority became the 89th national chapter to receive a charter from the international Greek organization based in Philadelphia, and became the fourth Panhellenic Council member on the university’s campus.

Formerly the Iota Colony, Delta Phi Epsilon at Tarleton became the Gamma Sigma Chapter following a chartering ceremony held in Heritage Oaks Park on Saturday, April 13. The sorority boasts a membership of 59 members and was officially colonized on Feb. 1, 2013.

“We are proud to be a part of Tarleton’s Panhellenic Council and Greek community and want to thank them for the opportunity that brought Delta Phi Epsilon Sorority to the Tarleton campus,” said chapter president Catherine Mitchell. “Our ladies have worked hard to make this day happen, and here we are! I am excited to be able to call these amazing women my sisters.”

Two members of Delta Phi Epsilon Sorority’s international headquarters attended the charter ceremony, which was hosted by the Gamma Sigma Chapter’s charter members. Delta Phi Epsilon’s colony consultant Ashley Sheldon and membership manager Lindsay Smith served as master of ceremonies. Also attending were representatives of Tarleton’s Division of Student Life, members of fellow Greek organizations on campus, and university President F. Dominic Dottavio, along with his wife Dr. Lisette Dottavio.

“Installing a chapter at Tarleton State University in Texas, marks a milestone success for Delta Phi Epsilon Sorority. The women of the Gamma Sigma chapter have completed several weeks of training and operational learning to create a home-away-from-home in DPhiE for the members of their chapter,” said Nicole DeFeo, the sorority’s international executive director. “If past performance is an indicator of future successes, we see this chapter as an award-winning group, who will exceed our expectation at every turn. They are truly upholding the values of our sisterhood, Justice, Sisterhood and Love, in Texas.”

Charter members of the Tarleton chapter of Delta Phi Epsilon Sorority include: Constance Adamski, Rebecca Ator, Elizabeth Batton, Ashley Becker, Becca Bland, Katy Bone, Lucy Brassfield, Desire Brown, Raven Brown, Jessie Chavez, Tatianna Clemons, Ashley Cozby, Heather DuShane, Stacey Flores, Emryse Geye, Sally Gill, Kristin Gobert, Kelyn Green, Taylor Greene, Tatum Greer, Halie Hall, Samantha Hanna, Madison Helms, Nicole Hengst, Tianna Holmes, Tara Hughey, SelinaLynn Innes, Amanda Kennedy, Madelyn Kramer and Shelby Krueger.

Gamma Sigma Chapter’s charter members also include: Nicole Kuhler, Mykayla Lockhart, Nichole Long, Jessica Mariluch, Gloria Medrano, Salina Michael, Catherine Mitchell, Juana Moncada, Lauren Motloch, Harlie Nichols, Andrea O’Mary, Sarah Pack, Brandy Pickett, Khai Richardson, Courtlyn Samayoa, Heather Sims, Melissa Smithey, Kristine Stifflemire, Tori Taylor, Jocelyn Thompson, Emily Trinque, Andrea Valles, Nakeycia Wakefield, Taylor Watts, Kandace Willett, Megan Wilson, Ashley Woodard, Jornisha Woodard and Raeven Zamarron.

According to Mitchell, an interest group was formed on the Tarleton campus last fall to begin the process of establishing the Iota Colony of Delta Phi Epsilon. The international sorority granted colony status on Feb. 1, 2013, which included a series of requirements to be carried out before the local members could submit its petition for a charter.

“We are excited to begin our journey and help promote Tarleton traditions as well as show Tarleton what Delta Phi Epsilon sorority represents,” said Mitchell. “The sisters of Delta Phi Epsilon also hope to leave a legacy on the Tarleton campus that enables us to have a positive impact for the future.”

Current leadership of the local chapter includes: Catherine Mitchell, president; Lauren Motloch, vice president of operations; Samantha Hanna, vice president of programming; Nicole Hengst, vice president of recruitment; Harlie Nichols, vice president of membership development; Rebecca Ator, vice president of academic affairs; and Kristen Gobert, leadership team member-at-large. Serving as the sorority’s faculty-staff advisors are Caris Thetford and Elizabeth Wallace.

For more information about Tarleton’s Delta Phi Epsilon chapter, visit https://www.facebook.com/DeltaPhiEpsilonAtTarleton.


Tarleton State University
A member of The Texas A&M University System

Contact: Greek Life – Division of Student Life

Facebook Twitter

Tarleton's Delta Phi Epsilon Sorority chapter receives charter - Media Relations - Tarleton State University