COBA presents faculty, student awards at annual luncheon

COBA Awards

Tarleton State University

Monday, April 15, 2013

STEPHENVILLE, Texas—Students and faculty were recognized by Tarleton’s College of Business Administration during its annual COBA Awards Luncheon on Thursday, April 11.

Dr. Adolfo Benavides, dean of the college, welcomed nearly 200 guests to the awards luncheon at the Barry B. Thompson Student ballrooms, including keynote speaker Thomas F. Siems, senior economist and director of outreach in the Financial Institution Relationship Management Department at the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas.

Siems provided a presentation, The Economic Roller Coaster: Where Have We Been? And Where Are We Going? prior to the college recognizing its top students from each academic department with the presentation of the dean’s “Top Banana” awards.

Faculty recipients of this year’s “Top Banana” awards, include:
Thomas F. Siems - 2013 COBA Honors Luncheon Distinguished Speaker
Fernando Camuzzi - 2013 COBA Executive Advisory Board Service Award
Dr. Joanna Shaw - 2013 Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning Award
Dr. Jason Sharp - O.A.Grant Teaching Excellence Award
Cary Winsett - 2013 Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award
Sara Tonne - 2013 Outstanding Student Service Award
Professor Art Dearing - 2013 Outstanding Faculty Service Award
Randy Burch - 2013 Outstanding Faculty Service Award
Dr. Thomas Bradley - 2013 Outstanding Faculty Service Award
Dr. Leah Schultz - 2013 Outstanding Faculty Service Award
Professor Betsy Ball - 2013 Outstanding Internationalization Award
Dr. Garry Smith - 2013 Outstanding Research Productivity Award

Outstanding Graduating COBA students also received “Top Banana” awards. Among the recipients and their respective academic departments are:
Heather Walker – Accounting, Finance and Economics; Luis Calderon – Accounting; Clarice Nickerson – Economics; Kyle Supak – Finance; Hayden Riedell – Computer Information Systems; Sangeeta Gina – MS, Information Systems; Kyle Smith – BS, Computer Information Systems; Della Michnavich – BAAS/IT; Andy Vazquez – MMAS; Maria Ross – Administrative Systems; Emily Noggle – Business Administration; Timothy Lukacz – Applied Science; Judi Conger – Applied Arts and Sciences; Meagan Klassen – Human Resource Management; Bruce Orr – Marketing; Hunter Stockton – Management; Cheri Evans – MBA; Ashlee Noblin and Shonda Sears – MS Management and Leadership; and Jessica James – MS Human Resource Management.

For more information about Tarleton’s College of Business Administration, visit


Tarleton State University
A member of The Texas A&M University System

Contact: Kurt Mogonye

Facebook Twitter

COBA presents faculty, student awards at annual luncheon - Media Relations - Tarleton State University