Nine educators inducted into Tarleton's Crystal Apple Society

2nd Annual Crystal Apple Society

Tarleton State University

Friday, March 29, 2013

STEPHENVILLE, Texas—Tarleton’s College of Education recently honored nine individuals during the second annual Crystal Apple Society induction ceremony and dinner. The society benefits a scholarship program for students in the College of Education. In recognition of educators whose careers have made an impact on the lives of countless students, a crystal apple was presented to each inductee during the Feb. 22 event.

Among those honored at the second annual induction dinner were: Julie Brinkley, a kindergarten teacher at Stephenville ISD’s Central Elementary school; Dr. Joe Gillespie, professor of kinesiology and former dean of Tarleton’s College of Education; Julie Terrell-Hinds, a veteran elementary teacher at Glen Rose ISD; Kathleen Huckabee, science teacher at Stephenville High School; and the late Mary Lynn Larmer, former special education teacher at Flower Mound ISD.

Also honored were: Dr. Pam Littleton, retired professor of mathematics and former associate dean of Tarleton’s College of Arts and Sciences; Dr. Dennis P. McCabe, retired professor of educational leadership and policy studies and the 14th president of Tarleton State University; Dr. Kyle McGregor, former high school agri-science educator, associate professor of ag services and development, and current chief of staff to the university president; and Dr. James R. Stewart, retired assistant professor of biology at the University of Texas at Tyler.

The Crystal Apple Society was created in 2012 to recognize educators who exemplify excellence and honor those who have made significant contributions to the education profession. Teachers, professors, coaches, librarians, administrators and counselors are eligible to receive the award and are nominated by a sponsor.

“We can all think of special educators who made a difference in our lives and the lives of others,” said Dr. Jill Burk, dean of Tarleton’s College of Education. “The Crystal Apple Society is the perfect opportunity to honor these dedicated individuals.”

By making a minimum contribution of $500 in honor of a recipient, each sponsor will provide a source of funding for student scholarships. “The legacy exemplified by Crystal Apple inductees inspires and supports another generation of educators,” said Burk. Sponsors of the honorees helped to raise over $5,000 for the creation of scholarships for students.

The Crystal Apple Society induction dinner for next year has been scheduled for March 28, 2014.


Tarleton State University
A member of The Texas A&M University System

Contact: Kurt Mogonye

Facebook Twitter

Nine educators inducted into Tarleton's Crystal Apple Society - Media Relations - Tarleton State University