Nominations sought for Tarleton Rodeo Hall of Fame

Rodeo Hall of Fame

Tarleton State University

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

STEPHENVILLE, Texas—Nominations for the Tarleton State University Rodeo Hall of Fame are now being accepted for 2013, organizers announced.

Tarleton’s rodeo program is known for having some of the toughest and most talented student competitors among National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association (NIRA) members. To celebrate their achievements during the past 65 years, the Rodeo Hall of Fame was established and serves to honor cowboys and cowgirls who have made an outstanding contribution to the sport and who have brought notoriety to the university.

Organizers of the Tarleton Rodeo Hall of Fame have formed a committee and will accept nominations through Jan. 14, 2013, for the second class of inductees.

The 2012 inaugural inductees were Angie Watts Averhoff, Vicki Higgins Emerson, Sally Preston, Karen Walls, Connie Wilkinson Wood, Martha Tompkins Wright, Sharon Harrison Youngblood and Hadley Reed. All of these ladies were on one or more of the Women’s championship teams of 1969, 1970, and 1971. Reed was a CNFR qualifier, Southwest regional champion, and served as the interim rodeo coach.

“Tarleton rodeo has had a huge impact on the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association and the NIRA Southwest Region,” said assistant rodeo coach Tibba Smith. “Today, Tarleton has one of the largest teams in the nation with 112 card-holding student members, and continues to demonstrate the winning tradition set years ago.”

The first rodeo team at Tarleton was formed in 1947. Since then, student competitors have won six national championship titles and 19 individual national titles, plus numerous event and team championships within the Southwest Region.

Individuals and teams named to the hall of fame will have performed at a level distinctly and significantly higher than that of their teammates or associates, said rodeo coach Mark Eakin. “Their performance will have brought honor and distinction to Tarleton,” he said.

Anyone interested in nominating a past Tarleton rodeo student or coach is encouraged to fill out the nominating form located under the “Hall of Fame” link online at:

For additional information, please call the Office of Rodeo Activities at 254-968-9187.


Tarleton State University
A member of The Texas A&M University System

Contact: Tibba Smith

Facebook Twitter

Nominations sought for Tarleton Rodeo Hall of Fame - Media Relations - Tarleton State University