Students win freedom of information journalism award

Amber Ward Journalism

Tarleton State University

Monday, August 13, 2012

STEPHENVILLE, Texas—Tarleton students Amber Ward and Monica Pierce have been awarded the 2012 President’s Future Journalist Award by the Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas. Specifically, the students were recognized for their vigilance in support of public records related to the federal Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Campus Crime Statistics Act (Clery Act).

Keith Elkins, executive director of the foundation, complimented the students’ efforts to uncover stories and use the Texas Public Information Act.

"That level of commitment and dedication—especially in light of the difficulty you faced in having no electronic ‘data’ available resulting in hundreds, if not thousands of hours of painstaking manual data entry—make you the obvious choices for this year’s award,” Elkins said.

Amber Ward is a 2012 Tarleton graduate and was the Outstanding Graduate from the Department of Communication Studies. Monica Pierce is a senior communication studies major and recipient of the Dick Smith Scholarship.

“Amber, Monica and the students they worked with and inspired not only provided Tarleton and Stephenville with important information about crimes in the area, but their work has made the university and the city more transparent,” said journalism instructor Dan Malone.

Amber Ward received the award at the annual Bernard and Audre Rapoport State Conference Aug. 10 at the Hyatt Regency Austin Hotel.


Tarleton State University
A member of The Texas A&M University System

Contact: Dr. Charles Howard

Facebook Twitter

Students win freedom of information journalism award - Media Relations - Tarleton State University