Tarleton hosts annual Texas Farm Bureau Youth Leadership Conference

Texas Farm Bureau Conference

Tarleton State University

Friday, June 22, 2012

STEPHENVILLE, Texas—Tarleton State University welcomed more than 300 high school juniors and seniors to campus for the 49th annual Texas Farm Bureau-sponsored Youth Leadership Conference, held June 18-22. This was the first time that the conference, which has attracted more than 13,000 youths since 1963, was held at Tarleton.

According to the Farm Bureau, the purpose of the conference is to provide the students with a better understanding of their American heritage, the capitalistic free enterprise system, and to inspire leadership development, as well as to provide students with a better understanding of the various forms of government and their responsibility as citizens.

Among those welcoming the conference-goers to the university were Tarleton President F. Dominic Dottavio and Kenneth Dierschke, president of Texas Farm Bureau.

“The Farm Bureau in Texas has always had a special interest in the development of youth,” said Dierschke. “This marks the 49th year that the state organization has sponsored the Youth Leadership Conference. Last year, more than $112,000 in scholarships was awarded to qualified, deserving young people. Both the county and state Farm Bureaus dedicate substantial resources to help our youth.

“The Farm Bureau is committed to assisting young adults in achieving their dreams,” Dierschke added. “Our communities, our state and our nation need qualified leaders and the Youth Leadership Conference is helping to develop them.”

During the weeklong event, three areas are emphasized: patriotism, responsibility and leadership. Students discussed topics such as the free enterprise system, constitutional government, Americanism, leadership and goal setting.


Tarleton State University
A member of The Texas A&M University System

Contact: Kurt Mogonye

Facebook Twitter

Tarleton hosts annual Texas Farm Bureau Youth Leadership Conference - Media Relations - Tarleton State University