Skip to page content
Return to Top

News and Information

Prof named to Chancellor's Academy of Teacher Educators
Chancellor''s Academy of Teacher Educators Dr. Beth Riggs

Tarleton State University

Wednesday, February 19, 2014

STEPHENVILLE, Texas—Dr. Beth Riggs of Tarleton State University is one of nine faculty members in The Texas A&M University System named as a 2014 recipient of the Chancellor’s Academy of Teacher Educators. The academy recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of teacher education and highlights the role of the A&M System in producing K-12 teachers for the state of Texas.

The nine honorees will be recognized during the annual banquet of the Chancellor’s Century Council Feb. 21 in College Station. Each will receive a $1,000 stipend, commemorative medallion and a certificate. Riggs and her fellow recipients will serve on the selection committee for future nominations and will be asked to present at the Chancellor’s Summit on Teacher Education in the fall.

Riggs joined the Tarleton Department of Mathematics in 1995. She has earned two degrees from Tarleton, including a bachelor’s degree in mathematics in 1992 and a master’s in mathematics in 1995. Riggs later earned her Ed.D. in curriculum and instruction, with mathematics education emphasis, from Baylor University in 2003.

Past honors for Riggs include the Jack & Louise Arthur Distinguished Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching (2004), O.A. Grant Excellence in Teaching Award (2004), Barry B. Thompson Service Award (2005), Educator of the Year Award from the De Leon Chamber of Commerce (2008) and the Timothy L. Flinn Faculty Excellence Award for the Department of Mathematics (2009).

Riggs joins 2014 inductees Dr. Luz Mary Rincon, Texas A&M University—Texarkana; Jennifer G. Whitfield, Texas A&M University; Dr. Robert L. Williams, Texas A&M University—Commerce; Dr. Corinne M. Valadez, Texas A&M University—Corpus Christi; Dr. Jack A. Bradley, Texas A&M University—Kingsville; Dr. Dorleen K. Hooten, Texas A&M University—Central Texas; and Dr. James B. Jurica, Texas A&M University—San Antonio.


Tarleton State University
A member of The Texas A&M University System

Contact: Kurt Mogonye

<< Back

Chancellor''s Academy of Teacher Educators

Dr. Beth Riggs