Skip to page content
Return to Top

News and Information

Nominations for Crystal Apple Society honorees due Feb. 7

Tarleton State University

Monday, February 3, 2014

STEPHENVILLE, Texas—The College of Education at Tarleton State University is acepting nominations for its upcoming third annual Crystal Apple Society induction, Friday, March 28, at 6 p.m. in the Barry B. Thompson Student Center ballrooms.

The deadline to nominate an individual for induction into the Crystal Apple Society is Friday, Feb. 7. Nomination forms can be found online at: Please contact Dr. Jill Burk at 254-968-9088 or for more information.

The college established the award to honor educators who have made a positive impact on the lives of students. “Perhaps it was a second-grade teacher who instilled a love of reading, a coach who inspired you to achieve, a high school teacher whose knowledge of biology influenced your career choice, a counselor who convinced you to attend college or an administrator who provided support,” said Burk, dean of Tarleton’s College of Education. “We all can think of special educators who made a difference in our lives and the lives of others. The Crystal Apple Society is the perfect opportunity to honor these dedicated individuals.”

Honorees can be current or former teachers, principals, superintendents, librarians, counselors, coaches or university professors, said Burk. While Tarleton is sponsoring this award, honored educators and sponsors do not need to be affiliated with Tarleton.

Those wishing to honor an educator will make a donation of $500. The gift, which is an important source of funding for student scholarships, underwrites the induction dinner for the honoree, sponsor and two guests as well as a special gift presented to the educator at the celebration event. In the first two years of the event, 10 Tarleton students preparing to be educators received scholarships made possible by the Crystal Apple Society.

Additional dinner tickets are available for purchase if a group of individuals would like to collectively sponsor a single award.


Tarleton State University
A member of The Texas A&M University System

Contact: Dr. Jill Burk

<< Back