Skip to page content
Return to Top

News and Information

Fall commencement to include three ceremonies
Fall 2012 Commencement

Tarleton State University

Monday, December 10, 2011

STEPHENVILLE, Texas—Fall commencement exercises at Tarleton State University will be held on Saturday, Dec. 15. Approximately 590 graduates will receive diplomas.

The Colleges of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences and Science and Technology will conduct their graduation ceremonies at 10:30 a.m. The Colleges of Education and Liberal and Fine Arts will conduct their graduation ceremonies at 1 p.m., followed by the College of Business Administration at a 4 p.m. ceremony.

All three programs will be held in Wisdom Gymnasium. The proceedings will be broadcast on Tarleton State University radio KXTR 100.7 FM and video-streamed live online on the Tarleton website, Specific link information will be posted prior to the event.

Tarleton President Dr. F. Dominic Dottavio will preside over the three ceremonies as 452 bachelor’s and 138 master’s degrees will be awarded to the university’s newest graduates.

Ms. Cathy Smock, chief auditor for The Texas A&M University System, will offer greetings from the System office at each of the three commencement exercises.

The presentation of Departmental Outstanding Graduates will precede each college’s processional. The graduates, selected by the administration and faculty in the student’s major department, are chosen for excelling in leadership as well as academics.

The honorees include: Kassie Kirby of Barry, Texas, agricultural and consumer sciences; Sarah Mays of Ardmore, Okla., animal science and wildlife management; Brandon Mihelich of Duncanville, environmental and agricultural management; Kyle Smith of Forney, computer information systems; Travis Adams of Burnet, management, marketing and administrative systems; and Janna Kolar of West, accounting, finance and economics.

Additional Departmental Outstanding Graduates include: Whitney Yocham of Granbury, curriculum and instruction; Lisa Parker of Boyd, kinesiology; Carlee Olson of Alvarado, fine arts; Laurie Goodman of Stephenville, social sciences; Remington Wheat of Stephenville, engineering and physics; Keith Coughlin of Aledo, engineering technology; and Charles David Gibson of Stephenville, mathematics.

Master’s hooding ceremonies for all graduate degree candidates have also been scheduled. A 9 a.m. ceremony will be held for students participating in the 10:30 and 1 p.m. commencement exercises, while those participating in the 4 p.m. graduating ceremony will be hooded at a 2:30 event.

Locations for the 9 a.m. master’s hooding ceremonies include: Colleges of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Science and Technology, and Liberal and Fine Arts (combined) – Clyde H. Wells Fine Arts Center auditorium; and the College of Education – Barry B. Thompson Student Center ballrooms. The College of Business Administration will host a 2:30 p.m. hooding ceremony in the Clyde H. Wells Fine Arts Center theatre.

For directions to Wisdom Gymnasium and maps of the Stephenville campus, visit More information about Tarleton’s upcoming commencement ceremonies can be found online at:



Tarleton State University
A member of The Texas A&M University System

Contact: Kurt Mogonye

<< Back

Fall 2012 Commencement