Skip to page content
Return to Top

News and Information

O.A. Grant Excellence in Teaching Awards announced

Tarleton State University

Tuesday, April 24, 2012

STEPHENVILLE, Texas—Five members of the Tarleton State University faculty have been named as 2012 recipients of the O.A. Grant Excellence in Teaching Awards. Created in honor of the longtime social sciences faculty member, the O.A. Grant awards are presented each spring in conjunction with the University Faculty Awards hosted by the Tarleton Alumni Association and Office of External Relations.

One faculty member from each of the university’s five colleges is chosen for the honor, which includes a plaque and a cash stipend. Those selected for the 2012 awards include Paula McKeehan, Department of Agricultural and Consumer Sciences – College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; Bill Beaty, Department of Accounting, Finance and Economics – College of Business Administration; Dr. Laurie McAdams, Department of Curriculum and Instruction – College of Education; Mark Holtorf, Department of Fine Arts – College of Liberal and Fine Arts; and Glenda Hood, Department of Clinical Laboratory Sciences – College of Science and Technology.

The O.A. Grant Excellence in Teaching Awards was created through a grant that honors the longtime Tarleton faculty member. It recognizes not only teachers who are dedicated to the educational environment in the classroom but show a genuine concern for students outside academics.

Dr. O.A. Grant was a member of the Tarleton faculty from 1948 to 1987. He served as chairman of the Department of Social Sciences from 1967 to 1976 and was named as an Outstanding Educator of America in 1976. In 1983 he received the Distinguished Faculty Award from Tarleton. He was appointed Professor Emeritus by The Texas A&M University System after his retirement.

Hood has been a member of the faculty as an instructor and director of the histotechnology program at Tarleton’s Department of Medical Laboratory Sciences since 2004. She received her bachelor of science degree from Indiana University and her master of education degree from Tarleton. She has been credited with preparing students for the American Society of Clinical Pathology board registry exams resulting in a greater than 95 percent pass rate and virtually a 100 percent employment rate for students upon completion of the program.

An associate professor of theater, Holtorf has been a member of the Tarleton faculty since 1988. He received his bachelor’s degree in theater from the University of Wisconsin at Eau Clair, and his master of fine arts degree from the University of Virginia. For more than two decades, he has dedicated his life to educating students about acting, dramatic literature and criticism, directing and technical theater. A past recipient of the Student Recognition Award for Teaching Excellence from the Texas A&M University System, Holtorf has been described as the “epitome of dedication.”

A graduate of the University of Central Florida and Tarleton, Dr. McAdams is an assistant professor of curriculum and instruction, and serves as an academic advisor to many students and serves as faculty advisor to the Tarleton Professional Educators organization. Known for leaving a lasting and profound impact on her students, McAdams provides engaging and meaningful instruction in literacy development.

Beaty has been teaching at Tarleton for more than 26 years and has consistently been evaluated with the highest marks by his students. He is an assistant professor of accounting, finance and economics, and is known as a “go-to” faculty member who always goes the extra mile for his students. In 1999 and 2005, Beaty was named COBA’s “Teacher of the Year” and previously received the O.A. Grant award in 2004.

McKeehan, an assistant professor of family and consumer sciences since 2008, began teaching at Tarleton as an adjunct instructor in 2005. She has been teaching in various settings since 1992, holding positions with county extension agencies and clinics as a licensed dietician. McKeehan also serves as a judge and superintendent for FFA contests and agriscience fairs, and acts as adviser to Tarleton’s chapter of Kappa Omicron Nu, a national honor society for family and consumer science students.


Tarleton State University
A member of The Texas A&M University System

Contact: Kurt Mogonye

<< Back