Skip to page content
Return to Top

News and Information

Tarleton to confer 914 degrees during spring commencement

Tarleton State University

May 9, 2011

STEPHENVILLE, Texas--A total of 914 candidates for graduation are scheduled to participate in commencement exercises, Saturday, May 14 at Tarleton State University's Memorial Stadium. The ceremony, hosted by each of the five colleges that will award diplomas, will begin at 7 p.m.

Tarleton President Dr. F. Dominic Dottavio will preside as 753 bachelors, 150 masters and 11 doctoral degrees will be awarded to the university's newest graduates.

Kenneth J. Wyatt, a 1946 graduate of John Tarleton College, will also receive an honorary degree from the university. The renowned artist, whose work celebrates his native Texas and the American West, will be presented a Doctor of Humane Letters from Dottavio. Wyatt's work is found in the collections of former President George W. Bush, the King of Dubai, and Queen Elizabeth II of England.

The presentation of Departmental Outstanding Graduates will precede each college's processional. The graduates, selected by the administration and faculty in the student's major department, are chosen for excelling in leadership as well as academics.

The honorees include: Jeralyn Stephens of McKinney, Agricultural and Consumer Sciences; Shelby Armstrong of Aurora, Ore., Animal Sciences and Wildlife Management; Seth Peugh of Rio Vista, Environmental and Agricultural Management; Joshua Pelfrey of Stephenville, Accounting, Finance and Economics; Steven Williams of Joshua, Computer Information Systems; Shonda Sears of Whiteface, Management, Marketing and Administrative Systems; Destin Cook of Flower Mound, Curriculum and Instruction; Sonya Sundberg of Fort Worth, Kinesiology; Ashley Moberg of Moses Lake, Wa., Psychology and Counseling; Amanda Ritchie of Big Lake, Communications Studies; Chelsae Hay of Glen Rose, English and Languages; Olivia Frederich of Coppell, Fine Arts; Aubrey Lindberg of Troy, Social Sciences; Brittany Butler of Stephenville, Biological Sciences; Christine Goffinet of Waco, Chemistry, Geosciences and Environmental Science; Bret Hokr of Fort Worth, Engineering and Physics; Ryan Brannon of Fort Worth, Engineering Technology; Chad Tyre of Weatherford, Mathematics; and Rachel Gerik of Waxahachie, Nursing.

More information about Saturday's commencement ceremony can be found online at:

The proceedings will be video-streamed live online on the Tarleton website, Specific link information will be posted prior to the event.


Tarleton State University
A member of The Texas A&M University System

Contact: Kurt Mogonye

<< Back