Skip to page content

Embargoed and Sanctioned Countries

The U.S. export regulations restrict imports and exports to certain destinations without a U.S. Government authorization (called "license"). 

  • Embargoes sanctions (Crimea - Region of Ukraine, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Sudan, and Syria) prohibit all transactions (including imports and exports) without license authorization.
  • Targeted sanctions prohibit certain exports of items, data, and/or software without a license authorization.

Step-by-Step Review

  1. Consult the Office of Foreign Asset Control (OFAC) sanctions programs for any international transaction/activity (shipments, travels, visitors, etc.). For the most current countries, please visit the U.S. Department of Treasury website.
  2. If the export involves an item/activity controlled under the Export Administration Regulations (EAR) or the International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR), consult the lists of embargoed and sanctioned countries administered by the EAR or the ITAR.

View our compiled list of EAR, ITAR and OFAC Embargoed and Sanctioned Countries. 

If your transaction/export involves an embargoed or sanctioned country, please contact the Risk Management and Compliance department prior to proceeding with as much advanced notice as possible.