Skip to page content
Return to Top

Board of Regents Meeting Update


Dear Colleagues,

I want to share with you a number of measures affecting Tarleton that were approved at today’s meeting of the Board of Regents for The Texas A&M University System.

Our holiday schedule for the coming academic year will again provide for 14 days off.  These days are:

  • September 4, 2017 (Labor Day)
  • November 23-24, 2017 (Thanksgiving)
  • December 25, 2017-January 2, 2018 (Christmas/New Year’s)
  • January 15. 2018 (Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday)
  • March 16, 2018 (Spring Break)
  • May 28, 2018 (Memorial Day)
  • July 4, 2018 (Independence Day)

The Board of Regents awarded 15 faculty members tenure, and along with this Dr. Karen Murray, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, and I approved their promotion.  We also notified the Chancellor of the promotion of an additional nine faculty members.  The promotion and tenure of these 24 individuals are effective September 1, 2017.  Please join me in congratulating the following faculty members for reaching a significant milestone in their careers.

Promotion and Tenure

  • Dr. Wayne Atchley – Associate Professor
  • Dr. Jeremiah Bass – Associate Professor
  • Dr. Eileen Faulkenberry – Professor
  • Dr. Gloria Fragoso-Diaz – Associate Professor
  • Dr. David Frazier – Associate Professor
  • Dr. Heather Hawk – Associate Professor
  • Dr. Sally Hoger – Associate Professor
  • Ms. Prudence Jones – Associate Professor
  • Dr. Lesley Leach – Professor
  • Dr. Julie Merriman – Associate Professor
  • Dr. Jason Sawyer – Associate Professor
  • Dr. Thomas Schwertner – Associate Professor
  • Dr. Joanna Shaw – Associate Professor
  • Dr. Janice Speschock – Associate Professor
  • Dr. Rajani Srinivasan – Associate Professor


  • Dr. Mircea Agapie – Professor
  • Dr. Jeff Breeden – Professor
  • Dr. Thomas Burdenski – Professor
  • Dr. Hennen Cummings – Professor
  • Ms. Christi Foster – Assistant Professor
  • Dr. Javier Garza – Professor
  • Dr. Sally Lewis – Professor
  • Dr. Jason LaTouche – Professor
  • Dr. Denise Martinez – Professor

In other action, the Board of Regents approved updates to our admissions standards for entering freshmen, transfer, and graduate students.     

As I return from the Board meeting, I want to express my appreciation for your continuing efforts to make Tarleton the exceptional university that it has become. Tarleton is not only the Founding Member of the A&M University System – it is also a stellar performer within that circle.

F. Dominic Dottavio, Ph.D.