Skip to page content

Faculty and Staff

Full Time Faculty

Fall 2020 Office Hours

Dr. Keith Emmert

Keith Emmert

Professor and Department Head
Email: emmert@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 142
Phone: 254-968-9167

More Info:

  • Ph. D., Applied Mathematics, Texas Tech University, 2004
  • M.S., Mathematics, Louisiana State University, 1999
  • B.S., Applied Mathematics, Southeastern Louisiana University, 1996

Teaching Interests: I am interested in teaching both theoretical as well as applied class ranging from Calculus through graduate level. Involving students in undergraduate as well as graduate research, and thesis direction is another aspect of education that is important to me.

Research Interests: To date, my research has focused on the development of new deterministic and stochastic epidemic models for the spread of disease in a structured host population. Past models have been included difference as well as differential equations with either fixed or periodic coefficients. Current epidemic models include amphibian movement between ponds and competition/predation amongst different species. I use theory as well as simulations to investigate the richness of the models.
Ongoing interdepartmental collaborative work includes studying dairy mastitis and forecast modeling of downy mildew on onions.
Future directions in research include investigating the robustness of stability results, animal movement models, patch models studying the spread and control of influenza, and population genetics. Parallel algorithms and genetic algorithms will most likely be of great use in exploring these new topics.

Dr. Jeremiah Bass

Jeremiah Bass

Associate Professor
Email: jbass@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 309
Phone: 254-968-9161

Dr. Bowen Brawner

Bowen Brawner

Professor
Email: brawner@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 330
Phone: 254-968-9302

More Info:

  • Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin, 2001
  • M.S., Southwest Texas State University 1995
  • B.A., The University of Texas at Austin, 1993

Teaching Interests: Mathematics Education

Visit Dr. Brawner's Website.

Diane Casey

Diane Casey

Instructor
Email: scasey@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 235B
Phone: 254-968-9410

Dr. Scott Cook

Scott Cook

Associate Professor; Math Club Advisor; Coordinator of the Graduate Program in Mathematics; Senior Research Scientist - Center for Agribusiness Excellence


Email: scook@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 132
Phone: 254-968-1958

More info:

  • Ph.D. in Mathematics, Washington University in St. Louis, 2011
  • B.S. in Chemistry & Physics, Southern Nazarene University, 2002

Teaching Interests: Data Science, Discrete Math, Dynamical Systems, Probability & Statistics, and directing student research at the undergraduate and graduate levels
Research Interests: Billiard Dynamics, Redistricting & Gerrymandering, Markov Chain Monte Carlo, Applied Network Analysis, Data Science, Anomaly Detection

Visit Dr. Cook's Website

Dr. Jessie Crawford

Jesse Crawford

Associate Professor
Email: jcrawford@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 332
Phone: 254-968-9536

More Info:

  • Ph.D. in Mathematics, Indiana University, 2008.
  • B.S. in Mathematics, Angelo State University, 2002.

Teaching Interests:Teaching mathematics and statistics courses and directing student research at the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Research Interests:Theoretical statistics, including the study of multivariate normal models given by group symmetries or graphs. Applied statistics, including applications of linear regression models and logistic regression models. I am also interested in education research, financial mathematics, mathematical biology, and game theory.

Visit Dr. Crawford's Website.

Soad Emmert

Soad Emmert

Instructor
Email: semmert@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 327
Phone: 254-968-9172

More Info:

  • M.S. in Statistics, Texas Tech University, 2001
  • M.S. in Mathematics, Louisiana State University, 1999
  • B.S. in Mathematic, Yarmouk University, 1997

Teaching Interests: Statistics, Biostatistics, Applied Mathematics

Visit Soad Emmert's Website.

Melissa Eubank

Melissa Eubank

Instructor
Email: eubank@tarleton.edu
Office: Library 148
Phone: 254-459-5320

Dr. Eileen Faulkenberry

Eileen Faulkenberry

Professor; GTA Coordinator
Email: efaulkenberry@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 207
Phone: 254-968-1985

Not pictured

Javier Garza

Professor; Vice President for Enrollment Management
Email: garza@tarleton.edu
Office: Tarleton Center Room 105
Phone: 254-968-0787

More Info:

  • Ph.D. in Mathematics, University of North Texas, 1994
  • M.S. in Mathematics (Computer Science minor), Southwest Texas State University, 1989
  • B.S. in Mathematics (Computer Science minor), Southwest Texas State University, 1987

Teaching Interests: Moore method, Discovery learning, Inquiry-Based Learning Engaging students in undergraduate research

Research Interests: General interests: Mathematical modeling of infectious disease transmission and control Nonlinearly constrained optimization Specific projects: Mathematical modeling of spread and control of cholera Mathematical modeling of the spread and control of mastitis in dairy populations Using Sobolev gradients and steepest descent to find energy-minimizing maps satisfying nonlinear constraints

Visit Dr. Garza's Website.

Hannah Grant

Hannah Grant

Visiting Instructor
Email: hgrant@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 115
Phone: 254-968-1764

Dr. John Gresham

John Gresham

Assistant Professor
Email: jgresham@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 235C
Phone: 254-968-1954

More Info:

  • B.S. in Mathematics, Tarleton State College, 1968
  • M.S. in Mathematics, Texas Christian University, 1971
  • PhD in Mathematics, Texas Christian University, 1974

Teaching Interests: Communicating mathematics on the internet

Visit Dr. Gresham's Website.

Not pictured

Janice Groseclose

Instructor
Email: groseclose@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 326
Phone: 254-968-1770

Courtney Holland

Courtney Holland

Instructor
Email: cholland@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 338
Phone: 254-968-1765

Joey McMahan

Joseph McMahan

Instructor
Email: mcmahan@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 217
Phone: 254-968-1766

Dr. Chris Mitchell

Chris Mitchell

Assistant Professor
Email: cmitchell@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 131
Phone: 254-968-9543

Mary Peters

Mary Peters

Senior Instructor; Advisor
Email: mkpeters@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 235 F
Phone: 254-968-9538

Dr. Beth Riggs

Elizabeth Riggs

Associate Professor; Associate Department Head – Department of Mathematics; Undergraduate Advisor, Math Majors with Teacher Certification
Email: eriggs@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 142F
Phone: 254-968-1907

More Info:

  • Ed.D. in Curriculum & Instruction (Mathematics Education Emphasis), Baylor University, 2003
  • M.S. in Mathematics, Tarleton State University, 1995
  • B.S. in Mathematics, Tarleton State University, 1992

Teaching Interests:  I enjoy teaching a variety of mathematics courses ranging from Developmental Mathematics through Calculus II and Geometry. In addition, I love working with pre-service teachers at the elementary, middle school, and secondary level.

John Robinett

John Robinett

Instructor
Email: jrobinett@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 202
Phone: 254-968-1722

More Info:

  • M.S., Mathematics, Tarleton State University
  • B.A., Mathematics, Texas A&M University

Teaching Interests:  I am interested in teaching developmental and freshman level math classes. I am also interested in finding, modifying, and/or developing effective pedagogies and activities to enable students to learn math efficiently and understand mathematical concepts. I enjoy using discovery and inquiry-based lessons, as well as interactive lessons designed to involve students in learning.

Imelda Salinas

Imelda Salinas

Instructor
Email: isalinas@tarleton.edu

Office: MATH 225
Phone: 254-968-1949

 

Not pictured

Colleen Seaman

Instructor
Email: seaman@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 318
Phone: 254-968-9988

Dr. Kathy Smith

Kathy Smith

Professor; T.E.A.M. Advisor
Email: ksmith@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 235E
Phone: 254-968-9304

More Info:

  • Ph.D., Georgia State University, 2000
  • M. Ed., Tarleton State University, 1990
  • B.S., Tarleton State University, 1984

Teaching Interests: Elementary and Middle School Mathematics Education, Integration of Mathematics and Science

Research Interests: Development of Academic Language in Mathematics and Development of Numerical Fluency

Nancy Summer

Nancy Summer

Instructor and Coordinator
Email: summer@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 117
Phone: 254-968-1746

anabel vazquez

Anabel Vazquez

Administrative Associate
Email: avazquez@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 142
Phone: 254-968-9168

Michael Warren

Michael Warren

Instructor
Email: mwarren@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 215
Phone: 254-968-0797

Dr. Peter White

Peter White

Professor
Email: white@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 331
Phone: 254-968-1982

More Info:

  • Ph.D, Mathematics (Numerical Analysis), 1994, Oregon State University, advisor: Andre Weideman
  • M.S., Mathematics (Applied PDE's), 1990, Oregon State University
  • B.S., Mathematics (Applied Option), 1987, Cal. State Univ. at Chico (CSUC)
  • B.S., Computer Science (Science Option), 1987, CSUC.

Teaching Interests: Numerical Analysis/Nonlinear PDE's, Computational Mathematics, Mathematical Modeling/Analysis of Biological Systems, Computational Biology, Internet Delivery Systems for Mathematics

Research Interests: Biomathematics and Simulations

Visit Dr. White's Website.

Dr. Richard Winton

Richard Winton

Professor
Email: winton@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 235 D
Phone: 254-968-1978

More Info:

  • Ph.D., University of Arlington 1988
  • M.S., University of Arlington 1984
  • M.A., North Texas State University 1978
  • B.S., Dallas Baptist University 1974

Teaching Interests:  Matrix Algebra, Linear Algebra, Abstract Algebra, Number Theory and Topology

Research Interests: Group Theory, Ring Theory, Linear Algebra, Number Theory, Cryptology, Topology and Continuum Theory

Not pictured

Kayla Wood

Instructor
Email: kwood@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 107
Phone: 254-968-1942

More Info:

  • BS, West Texas A & M University, 1997
  • MS, West Texas A & M University, 2001
Dr. Bryant Wyatt

Bryant Wyatt

Professor; Undergraduate Advisor, Mathematics Majors
Email: wyatt@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 312
Phone: 254-968-9530

More Info:

  • Ph.D. Applied Mathematics, University of Texas at Arlington, 1992
  • M.S. Applied Mathematics, University of Texas at Arlington, 1987
  • B.S. Mathematics, University of Texas at Arlington, 1985
  • B.A. Physics, University of Texas at Arlington, 1988
  • Degree, Ranch Management, Texas Christian University, 2001

Teaching Interests: My teaching style is Socratic and I enjoy teaching applied mathematics courses.

Research Interests: Computational Mathematics and Particle Modeling.

Graduate Teaching Assistants

ray casas

Ray Casas

Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: sw_casas@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 338
Phone: 254-968-1772

brooke chaffin

Brooke Chaffin

Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: sw_chaffin@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 338
Phone: 254-968-1772

diana dinh-andrus

Diana Dinh-Andrus

Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: sw_dinandrus@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 338
Phone: 254-968-1772

Jordan mccain

Jordan McCain

Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: sw_jmccain@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 303
Phone: 254-968-1768

Jenica McGill

Jenica McGill

Graduate Teaching Assistant

Email: sw_mcgill@tarleton.edu
Office: Math 303
Phone: 254-968-1772

justin sullivan

Justin Sullivan

Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: sw_jsullivan2@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 338
Phone: 254-968-1772

Maria Tovar picture

Maria Tovar

Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: sw_mtovar@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 303
Phone: 254-968-1768

Adjunct Faculty

Carrie Noll

Carrie Noll

Adjunct Faculty
Email: cnoll@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 216
Phone: 254-968-1765

Not pictured

James Wood

Adjunct Faculty
Email: jwood@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 107
Phone: 254-968-1765