Skip to page content
Return to Top

Faculty and Staff

College of Business Administration
Dr. Derrill WatsonDr. Derrill Watson
Assistant Professor of Economics
Email: dwatson@tarleton.edu
Office: Business 116
Phone: (254) 968-9342

Ph.D. in Economics, Cornell University

M.A. in Economics, Cornell University

B.A. in Economics, Brigham Young University

Research Interests: Development economics, Macroeconomics, Econometrics, Food Policy, Public Choice Economics, International Economics, Money and Banking

College of Education
Dr. Jamie BorchardtDr. Jamie Borchardt
Assistant Professor of Psychological Sciences
Email: borchardt@tarleton.edu
Office: Math 302
Phone: (254) 968-1970
Dr. Thomas FaulkenberryDr. Thomas Faulkenberry
Assistant Professor of Psychological Sciences
Email: faulkenberry@tarleton.edu
Office: Math 319
Phone: (254) 968-9816
Dr. Trina GeyeDr. Trina Geye
Director of the Center for Access and Academic Testing; Instructor of Psychological Sciences
Email: geye@tarleton.edu
Office: Math 201
Phone: (254) 968-9400
College of Liberal & Fine Arts
Dr. Karl AhoDr. Karl Aho
Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Email: kaho@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 339
Phone: (254) 968-9022
  • Ph.D., Baylor University

Research Interests: Ethics, History of Philosophy, Kierkegaard

Dr. Robert AndersonDr. Robert Anderson
Assistant Professor of Communication Studies
Email: randerson@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 394C
Phone: (254) 968-9853

Ph.D. in Communication Arts, University of Wisconsin at Madison

M.A. in History, University of San Diego

B.A. in History, University of New Mexico

Teaching Interests: Film Studies

Research Interests: Film Studies

Dr. Renee BarlowDr. Renee Barlow
Assistant Professor of English & Languages
Email: rbarlow@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 317
Phone: (254) 968-9318
Dr. Nathaniel CogleyDr. Nathaniel Cogley
Interim Department Head of Government, Legal Studies, and Philosophy and Assistant Professor of Social Sciences
Email: cogley@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 349
Phone: (254) 968-9631

Ph.D., Yale University

Research Interests: African Studies

Dr. Christopher GearhartDr. Christopher Gearhart
Assistant Professor of Communication Studies
Email: gearhart@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 394E
Phone: (254) 968-9023

Ph.D. in Communication Studies, Louisiana State University 

M.A. in Communication Studies, San Diego State University 

B.A. in Communication Studies, University of North Texas 

Learn more about Dr. Gearhart in his Faculty Spotlight Video

Teaching Interests: Interpersonal Communication, Close Relationships, Communication Theory, Public Speaking

Research Interests: Sport and Communication, including fantasy football and studies of team identification; Listening, in the areas of supportive communication and initial interactions; Biology and communication, specifically temperamental influences on communication skills.

Dr. Matthew HallgarthDr. Matthew Hallgarth
Assistant Professor of Philosophy and Religious Studies
Email: hallgarth@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 355
Phone: (254) 968-9029
Ph.D., University of Florida
Mr. Mark HoltorfMr. Mark Holtorf
Associate Professor of Fine Arts
Email: holtorf@tarleton.edu
Office: Fine Arts 180
Phone: (254) 968-9888

M.F.A., University of Virgina

B.A., University of Wisconsin at Eau Claire

Teaching Interests: Set Design, Lighting Design, Acting, Directing

Dr. Charles HowardDr. Charles Howard
Department Head and Associate Professor of Communication Studies
Email: choward@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 394D
Phone: (254) 968-9640

Ph.D. in Communication, University of Kansas

M.A. in Communication, University of Arkansas

B.A. in Communication and English, College of Ozarks

Teaching Interests: Political Communication, Communication Law, Persuasion

Research Interests: First Amendment Cases, Political and Legal Rhetoric

Dr. Atsuko KawakamiDr. Atsuko Kawakami
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Email: kawakami@tarleton.edu
Office: O. A. Grant 347
Phone: (254) 968-9882
Ph.D., Arizona State University

Research Interests: Social Gerontology and Transnational Migration

Dr. Lawrence MargolisDr. Lawrence Margolis
Professor of Social Sciences
Email: margolis@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 363
Phone: (254) 968-9628
Ph.D., University of Michigan

Research Interests: Comparative Politics

Dr. Kathleen MollickDr. Kathleen Mollick
Associate Professor of English & Languages
Email: kmollick@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 329
Phone: (254) 968-9037

Ph.D., Texas Woman's University

M.A., Tarleton State University

B.A.Ed., Eastern Washington University

B.A., Western Washington University

Research Interests: Presidential/political rhetoric, History of rhetoric, History of composition pedagogy, American popular culture

Dr. Benjamin NewtonDr. Benjamin Newton
Assistant Professor of Political Science and Coordinator of Legal Studies
Email: bnewton@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 390
Phone: (254) 968-0599
  • Ph.D., Government and Politics, University of Maryland, College Park (2012)
  • M.A., Government and Politics, University of Maryland, College Park (2009)
  • M.A., History, University of Wisconsin, Madison (2006)
  • B.A., Classics, Honors Program in Liberal Arts, Cum Laude, The Ohio State University (2003)

Research Interests: Political Philosophy, Jurisprudence, Legal Studies, & Constitutionalism

Dr. Benjamin SwordDr. Benjamin Sword
Assistant Professor of English & Languages
Email: sword@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 239C
Phone: (254) 968-0562

Ph.D., Texas Woman's University

M.A., Tarleton State University

B.A., Howard Payne University

Dr. Mallory YoungDr. Mallory Young
Regents Professor of English
Email: myoung@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 322
Phone: (254) 968-9041

Ph.D., State University of New York at Buffalo

B.A., University of Texas at Austin

 

Research Interests: Comparative literature, British literature, women's literature and popular culture.

College of Science & Technology
Dr. Peter BellDr. Peter Bell
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Email: bell@tarleton.edu
Office: Science 416
Phone: (254) 968-9273
Dr. John CalahanDr. John Calahan
Professor
Email: calahan@tarleton.edu
Office: Science 203C
Phone: (254) 968-9156

Ph.D., Texas A&M University

 

Teaching Interests: Plant Physiology, Ecological Plant Physiology

Dr. Dustin EdwardsDr. Dustin Edwards
Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences
Email: dcedwards@tarleton.edu
Office: Science 315
Phone: (254) 968-9153
  • PhD in Biomedical Sciences, Baylor College of Medicine, 2008
  • Postdoctoral Fellowship, National Cancer Institute, NIH

Research Interests: Identifying molecular mechanisms by which retrovirus structural, regulatory, and accessory proteins dysregulate cellular pathways to affect viral infectivity and cell survival during the establishment and maintenance of infection

Dr. Catherine RonckDr. Catherine Ronck
Assistant Professor of Geology
Email: ronck@tarleton.edu
Office: Science 139E
Phone: (254) 968-1862
Dr. Linda SchultzDr. Linda Schultz
Professor of Chemistry
Email: schultz@tarleton.edu
Office: Science 407
Phone: (254) 968-9146
Dr. Rajani SrinivasanDr. Rajani Srinivasan
Department Head for Chemistry, Geoscience, & Physics and Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Email: srinivasan@tarleton.edu
Office: Science 441E
Phone: (254) 968-1906