Skip to page content

University Research Committee (URC)

Tarleton State University is committed to faculty engagement in organized research, scholarly, and creative activities. Through the University Research Committee (URC), Tarleton makes funding available to support faculty research and scholarly endeavor. The Associate Dean of Research and Sponsored Projects serves as the URC Chairperson. The committee is comprised of 13 standing members plus two ex-officio members. Membership traditionally represents the diversity of campus programs and members serve for three-year terms. 

Purpose and Responsibility

The URC provide guidance for faculty seeking to develop active research or scholarly agendas that enhance the visibility of the University and its faculty within the academic community. The University Research Committee’s responsibilities are:

  • To adhere to university research and scholarly practices and policies;
  • To administer and allocate designated research funds;
  • To develop guidelines and procedures for funding requests and awards;
  • To evaluate proposals and allocate project funding;
  • To monitor project reporting requirements;
  • To publicize awards and/or scholarly products; and
  • To maintain archival records of committee activities.

Operational Timeline (Tentative)