Skip to page content
Drs. Gearhart and Holley prepare for the 2019 Outstanding Student Awards

Outstanding Student Awards

Each year the Department of Communication Studies honors the top students in each degree concentration, as well as select areas of responsibility. Each Outstanding student receives a professional gift and certificate at a reception with his or her mentor faculty, family, and friends.


Outstanding Student Awards

Dr. Gearhart presents award to Logan Allen

Outstanding Graduate Student

"Our outstanding graduate student is Logan Allen. Logan excelled in all his classes, doing work that went above and beyond what was expected. He was an outstanding researcher, even presenting his research on gender differences in comments on RateMyProfessor." 

Dr. Christopher Gearhart 

Mr. Malone presents Quanecia Fraiser with award.

Outstanding TNS Staffer Quanecia Fraiser

"Quanecia Fraser is an exceptionally talented young broadcast journalist. One day you'll flip on the news, and she'll be on your TV." 

 Dan Malone 

Dr. Cristi Horton accepts award for Gaylon Moore

Outstanding PARC Student

Dr. Cristi Horton accepted the award for Outstanding PARC Student for winner Gaylon Moore. 

Mr. McFarlin presents award to AJ Haayer

Tarleton Radio Employee of the Year

Mr. Lance McFarlin presents the award for Tarleton Radio Employee of the Year to Austin "AJ" Haayer. 

Karley Goen present award to student

Outstanding Legendary Leader

This year's Legendary Leader, Rhiannon McLain, is an Event Management student who is driven and focused on bringing grandiose ideas into fruition. She executed multiple events this semester on campus and within the Cross Timbers Region, all while raising two small sons and owning her own business. 

 Dr. Karley Goen


Elicia Leal

Outstanding PREM Student Bailey Poer


"Bailey Poer is one of the strongest writers that our PREM program has ever seen. She discovered her love for writing during her News Gathering and Writing class, after which she went on to write for the JTAC, a rodeo association, a magazine, and the Texan News. Her communication skills are versatile and impressive. She has a bright future ahead of her!"

Dr. Liza Benedict 

Kathryn Jones-Malone presents the Cross Timbers Award

Cross Timbers Award

Ms. Kathryn Jones-Malone presents the Cross Timbers award to Arynn Tomson.


Dan Malone presents the TV Broadcaster Award

Outstanding Texan TV Broadcaster

Mr. Dan Malone presents the award for Outstanding Texan TV Broadcaster to Katelyn Rivera. 


Dr. Gearheart presents Abby with award.

Outstanding Filmmaker

Dr. Chris Gearhart presents the award for Outstanding Filmmaker to Abigail Levine for her film "My Brother Is A Vampire." 


Dr. Holley accepts award for absent student.

Outstanding Future Teacher

Dr. Holley accepts the award for Outstanding Future Teacher for Rebecca Kalinec. 


Rebecca is a dedicated student and will be an exemplary teacher. Rebecca has dedicated countless hours to her quest for certification while maintaining an excellent GPA, participating in Renaissance Scholars, and a variety of other activities. It has been a privilege to both teach and guide this young woman.

Dr. Tracey Holley

Dr. Edwards accepts award for absent student.

Outstanding TSMRI Intern

Dr. Jennifer Edwards accepts the Outstanding TSMRI Intern award for Toyosi Olola.