Skip to page content

Student Advisory Board:

COB is a community comprised of students, faculty, and administration. As a student-managed board, SAB plays a critical role in the success of the COB community by providing a student’s perspective on important matters affecting the college. SAB will serve in an advisory capacity to the COB administration and will actively promote the interests of all COB stakeholders in a manner consistent with the responsibilities described in this charter.

Delta Mu Delta (Honor Society) for all COB majors

Delta Mu Delta (DMD) is a business honor society that recognizes and encourages academic excellence of students at qualifying colleges and universities to create a DMD community that fosters the well-being of its individual members and the business community through life-time membership.

Ms. Christi Foster ( 254-968-9917
Dr. David Notgrass ( 254-299-8528

Accounting, Finance & Economics Department

  • Omicron Delta Epsilon (Economic Honor Society)

Omicron Delta Epsilon is one of the world's largest academic honor societies. The objectives of Omicron Delta Epsilon are recognition of scholastic attainment and the honoring of outstanding achievements in economics; the establishment of closer ties between students and faculty in economics within colleges and universities, and among colleges and universities; the publication of its official journal, The American Economist ; and sponsoring of panels at professional meetings as well as the ODE Graduate Research and Undergraduate Research Award competitions.

Currently, Omicron Delta Epsilon has 696 chapters located in the United States, Canada, Australia, the United Kingdom, Mexico, Puerto Rico, South Africa, Egypt, France, Kazakhstan, and United Arab Emirates. With such a broad, international base, chapter activities vary widely, ranging from invited speakers, group discussions, dinners, meetings, etc., to special projects such as review sessions and tutoring for students in economics. Omicron Delta Epsilon plays a prominent role in the annual Honors Day celebrations at many colleges and universities.

Dr. Hussain Jafri ( 254-968-9633
  • Tarleton Finance Society

To bridge the gap between academia and the professional worlds our students wish to join.

Dr. Keldon Bauer ( 254-968-9909
  • Institute of Management Accountants (IMA)

Educate students by having speakers talk at accounting club meetings, help students by helping them attend off-campus events sponsored by IMA and other groups, and provide students with information that important to their careers that they don’t get to learn about in the classroom.

Dr. Arthur Young ( (254) 968-9358
  • Tarleton Economics Society

To inform and engage in discussion with the student body on current economic affairs, as well as how they relate to the student body.

Mr. Alex Tanter ( 254-968-9183
Dr. Derrill Watson ( 254-968-9342
  • COB Law Society

The Tarleton State University­­ – College of Business Law Society focuses on education about becoming a lawyer, as well as legislative and judicial processes. In addition, members will also gain insight into career opportunities for law school graduates and the challenges facing attorneys, judges, and other legal professionals.

Ms. Laura Gordey ( 254-968-9895
Mr. Kyle Post ( 254-968-9915
Dr. Rick Richardson ( 254-968-9895

Management Department

  • Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM)

The Tarleton University System Center--Central Texas SHRM chapter is affiliated nationally with the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM). Through a variety of activities, the chapter provides professional development, leadership and scholarship opportunities, as well as social and civic participative events. SHRM serves the needs of the human resource management professional by providing the most essential and comprehensive set of resources available. In addition, the Society is committed to advancing the human resource profession and the capabilities of all human resource professionals to ensure that HR is an essential and effective partner in developing and executing organizational strategy.

Dr. Brian Martinson ( 817-717-3327
  • Inactive - Collegiate Entrepreneurs Organization (CEO)

Only active in the Spring, students participate in developing proposals for the TCU Business Plan Competition.

Dr. Ed Dittfurth ( 254-968-1874

Marketing & Computer Information Systems Department

  • American Marketing Association (AMA)

TSU American Marketing Association creates a network for students to collaborate, learn and bring their best ideas forward.

Dr. Yi-Chia Wu ( 254-968-9048
Dr. Chris Shao ( 254-968-1944
  • Association of Information Technology Professionals (CIS - AITP)

Tarleton's AITP is one of the oldest organizations on the Tarleton campus, tracing its roots back to 1988, and provides many great benefits to its members. AITP is open to anyone interested in computers or a related focus; from databases to networking to programming, we are focused on preparing students for a professional career in the IT field and giving them an opportunity to find careers.

Mr. Art Dearing ( 254-968-9340