The Outstanding Junior Faculty Award is given in recognition of demonstrated excellence in teaching, scholarly or creative activities, and service by a faculty member beginning an academic career. The award is given based on cumulative achievement since joining the faculty at Tarleton State University. 

Past COB Winners!

  • 2022-2023 Catalin Dinulescu (College)
  • 2021-2022 Aray Chen (College)
  • 2020-2021 Hari Katuwal (College)
  • 2019-2020 Triss Ashton (College)
  • 2017-2018 Yi-Chia Wu (College)
  • 2016-2017 Jerry Burch (College)
  • 2015-2016 Jake Heller (College)

Award Criteria 

University Eligibility Criteria 

Full-time faculty in a junior status who have been:

  • At Tarleton for no more than five years;
  • In faculty role no more than seven years; and
  • Outstanding achievement in teaching, research/creative endeavor, and service at the junior faculty level.


  • Evidence of exemplary and innovative instructional practices;
  • Excellent teaching evaluations Evidence of recognition, i.e. class observations from peers, of effective teaching practices by colleagues; and
  • Serving as a Teaching Fellow. 


  • Continuous record of refereed publications, Cabell’s or ABDC’s listed journal or other widely circulated database;
  • Research presentations at regional, national or international level academic conferences;
  • Consistent involvement in guiding students for research;
  • Other creative activities that demonstrate continuous progress in the primary and secondary publications in the discipline;
  • Grant writing at the university, regional and federal levels; and
  • Serving as a Research Fellow; and
  • Organizational consulting.


  • Services contributing to the university level;
  • Services contributing to the college level;
  • Services contributing to the department level;
  • Services contributing to the professional level; and
  • Services contributing to the community level.