Skip to page content

Faculty Awards and Recognitions

Faculty Awards Overview: Faculty within each of the six academic colleges will choose an award winner in each category to represent their respective academic areas. These winners will form the pool of nominees for the university-wide awards. A review committee of junior and senior faculty from across the institution, faculty senators, prior award winners and students will review the college-level nomination and submit recommendations for the university-wide awards to the Vice Presidents of Academic Affairs and Student Life. 

College- level awards will be presented during the early spring at events hosted in each of the academic colleges. University-wide awards will be presented at the Annual Faculty & Staff Awards Banquet during the spring semester. 

Most faculty members consider being nominated for any of these awards an honor, so please take some time to nominate a deserving faculty member today!

If you have any questions concerning faculty awards, please contact Dr. Diane Taylor Chair of the Faculty Awards Committee.

Barry B. Thompson Service Award: Presented to a faculty member each year in recognition of outstanding service to students, the campus community and significant contributions to student-faculty interactions outside of the classroom (eligible every 5 years).

  • 2020-2021 Jason Sharp
  • 2018-2019 Charles "Chuck" Thomas
  • 2017-2018 H. Kevin Fulk
  • 2016-2017 Leah Schultz
  • 2015-2016 Dennis Jones
  • 2014-2015 Steve Steed
  • 2012-2013 Syed Jafri

Jack Louise Arthur Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching: Given annually to honor of effective and dedicated teachers at Tarleton State University. This prestigious award was instituted in 1983 under the former title of "Distinguished Service A ward". It was renamed in 1989 in honor of Jack and Louise Arthur who were true patrons of education. One faculty member is recognized from the university community who exemplifies excellence in university teaching (eligible every 5 years).

  • 2016-2017 Jason Sharp
  • 2014-2015 Joseph Schuessler
  • 1998-1999 Jerry Madkins
  • 1995-1996 Jack Russell
  • 1994-1995 Barbara Russell
  • 1985-1986 Tommy Barker

Engaged Faculty Award: Given in recognition of exemplary engaged scholarship and leadership by a faculty member.

  • 2017-2018 Jake Heller (College)
  • 2016-2017 Derrill Watson (College)
  • 2015-2016 Cindy Rippe (College)

Faculty Excellence in Scholarship Award: Established in 2003 to recognize a Tarleton State University faculty member who has shown exemplary performance scholarly or creative activities (eligible every 3 years).

  • 2020-2021 Omar Esqueda (College)
  • 2019-2020 David Notgrass (College)
  • 2018-2019 Dianna Krueger (College)
  • 2017-2018 Chun-Kai (Tommy) Hsu (College)
  • 2016-2017 Omar Esqueda (College)
  • 2015-2016 Jerry Burch (College)
  • 2014-2015 Sue Lewis (College)
  • 2013-2014 Jason Sharp (College/University)
  • 2011-2012 Nate Heller (University)

O.A. Grant Teaching Award: Recognizes Tarleton faculty members who have had a profound effect on the lives and careers of Tarleton students. The award is named for Dr. O.A. Grant, who joined the Tarleton faculty in 1948 and served as head of the Department of Social Sciences from 1967 to 1976. He was the first Tarleton faculty member to receive the Piper Award for outstanding teaching. Six recipients are recognized, one from each academic college (eligible every 3 years).

  • 2020-2021 Karen Varnell
  • 2019-2020 Jake Heller
  • 2018-2019 Joanna Shaw
  • 2017-2018 Judd Leach
  • 2016-2017 Jason Sharp
  • 2015-2016 Leah Schultz
  • 2014-2015 Joseph H. Schuessler
  • 2013-2014 Linda Wade
  • 2012-2013 Jason Sharp
  • 2011-2012 Bill Beaty
  • 2010-2011 B.R. Kirkland
  • 2009-2010 Nancy Boykin
  • 2008-2009 Boyd Collier
  • 2007-2008 Robin Wells
  • 2006-2007 Linda LaMarca
  • 2005-2006 Pat Smith
  • 2004-2005 Rusty Freed
  • 2002-2003 Bill Beaty
  • 2001-2002 Sankar Sundarrajan
  • 2000-2001 Richard Petronis

Regents Professor Award: The Regents Professor Award was instituted by The Texas A&M University System in 1996 to honor individuals at the rank of professor or equivalent who have provided exemplary service as faculty members not only to their university or agency, but also to the community, the State of Texas, and/or the nation, and/or at the international level.

Recipients of this award are designated as "Regents Professors". Once professors have been designated as such, they will retain the title throughout the duration of their service at the University or Agency.

  • 2018-2019 Syed Hussain Ali Jafri

Steve A. Steed Impact Award: Nominees for this award should have displayed sustained and repeated illustrations of high levels of service impact not only within the Tarleton College of Business but also other areas which might include but are not limited to:

  • Other Tarleton colleges
  • Other parts of the campus including athletic endeavors
  • Civic institutions
  • Public schools
  • Churches
  • Prisons
  • Student organizations
  • Committee service (both on campus and city and county)
  • Other similar endeavors

Eligibility criteria:

  • This award is open to all faculty and staff on any campus of Tarleton State University.
  • Faculty/staff members who have received this award within the last three years are not eligible.

Past Winners:

  • 2020-2021 Art Dearing
  • 2018-2019 Sue Joiner
  • 2017-2018 Betsy Ball
  • 2016-2017 Dennis Jones
  • 2015-2016 Nate Heller
  • 2014-2015 Steve Steed

Faculty Excellence in Student Success Award: Established in 2012 in recognition of a faculty member’s extraordinary efforts to increase student success (eligible every 3 years).

  • 2020-2021 Charles "Chuck" Thomas (College)
  • 2019-2020 Curtis Atchley (College)
  • 2018-2019 John DeLeon (College)
  • 2017-2018 Del Nagy (College)
  • 2016-2017 Steve Gerhardt (College/University)
  • 2015-2016 Reggie Hall (College)
  • 2014-2015 Jason Sharp (College)
  • 2013-2014 Randy McCamey (College)

Outstanding Junior Faculty Award: Given in recognition of demonstrated excellence in teaching, scholarly or creative activities, and service by a faculty member beginning an academic career. The award is given on the basis of cumulative achievement since joining the faculty at Tarleton.

  • 2020-2021 Hari Katuwal (College)
  • 2019-2020 Triss Ashton (College)
  • 2017-2018 Yi-Chia Wu (College)
  • 2016-2017 Jerry Burch (College)
  • 2015-2016 Jake Heller (College)