Skip to page content
Student getting hands-on experience in the Agriculture Center

College of Agricultural & Environmental Sciences

Mission Statement

The College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences enhances global agriculture and natural resources and creates future leaders by delivering innovative experiential learning, conducting relevant research, and providing community and global service while building life-long relationships among faculty, staff, and students.


About the College

The College of Agricultural & Environmental Sciences consists of three departments:

Teaching the Agricultural Sciences has been part of Tarleton from its establishment in 1899. Tarleton State University was known for most of the first half of the twentieth century as John Tarleton Agricultural College. Today, that tradition is stronger than ever with student enrollment in the College of Agricultural & Environmental Sciences exceeding 2,000. Tarleton's program is second in number of student majors in Texas, and third nationally among non-land grant universities.

Graduates of the College of Agricultural & Environmental Sciences have a reputation for high performance and for contributions to their professions in Animal Science, Agribusiness, Education, Wildlife Science, Ecosystem Sciences, Environmental Sciences, and Veterinary Technology. Additionally, many of our graduates go on to veterinary school and other professional schools.

Check out our departments and programs for information on opportunities available in the College of Agricultural & Environmental Sciences.


Honor's Banquet

Insert text about Honor's Banquet.

Search Degree Programs

 View College Degrees and Programs