Dr. Rueben Walter, Dean

Science Building, Room 119

(254) 968-9781

      The College of Science and Technology has three primary missions: first, to provide the courses in mathematics and natural and physical sciences that form an essential part of the core curriculum required of all University students; second, to provide supporting courses for students in other academic areas, such as education, business, and agriculture; and third, to provide the opportunity for students to concentrate their study in a major field of science, technology, or engineering. The College is strongly committed to excellence in teaching, research, and service to the University and to society.

      Degree programs available in the College of Science and Technology feature considerable variety at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. The range of programs includes those areas that provide the foundation required for professional fields such as medicine, dentistry, optometry, and pharmacy as well as specialized programs that are professionally oriented and lead to specific careers such as clinical laboratory science and nursing. It also includes mathematics, various sciences, engineering, computer science, and technology. The college offers masters degrees in three areas: biology, environmental science and mathematics. The College of Science and Technology is organized into six departments:

I.    Biological Sciences

II.    Chemistry, Geosciences, and Environmental Science

III.   Clinical Laboratory Sciences

IV.  Engineering Technology

V.   Mathematics, Physics, and Engineering, including the Division of Hydrology

VI.  Nursing.

      Please consult the section on Undergraduate Degree Requirements on pp. 38-41 for information about undergraduate degree requirements.