Skip to page content

In short

  1. Make sure no one is linking to your content
    1. in Cascade (via checking Relationships)
    2. print publications
    3. email campaigns
    4. external websites
  2. Delete the content

Delete Assets in Cascade

When you need something removed entirely from Cascade CMS and the Tarleton website, you will need to use Delete. Delete is another rare option, despite its maintenance potential. The issue with deleting assets is much like RenamingMoving, and Unpublishing assets. You have to know if anyone else is using that asset, whether Internally (by checking Relationships) or Externally (by making sure your reporting and search results can be updated). 

Therefore, deleting should probably be handled by Web Services in order to assist in making those search results updates. Despite our ability to make requests to the search engines in a timely manner, we are at their mercy for speed of delivery. Sometimes our request goes through their queue in a couple minutes, sometimes a couple weeks. But in worse case scenarios, it could be a couple months.

What that basically means is if you really don't want anyone to see something on your website, you should (a) not put it on there or (b) inform Web Services well ahead of time that we need to help you hide an asset from the view of the public.

Not all assets are valuable assets to a website. If you are placing internal content on your website, ask yourself if there could have been a better place for that content:

  • Is it for use by members of just your department, or certain members of Tarleton, that could gain access to the content via a shared drive (or folder) Information Technology Services could help you set up?
  • Is it for use on the go, from anywhere in the world, such that appropriate members of Tarleton could gain access to the content via Syncplicity, which Information Technology Services could help you set up?
  • Is it for use by your students for lectures that can be accessed through a Learning Management System (e.g. Blackboard), which Center for Instructional Innovation could help you set up?

If it needs to be on the website, but hidden from the public, you must contact Web Services well ahead of its publish date, so we can put the appropriate road blocks in place. Contacting us after it is published is already too late as the location may already be available across search engines, and we are at their mercy despite our prompt removal requests.

If you are deleting an asset that has few to no adverse effects upon removal,

  1. find the asset,
  2. select More,
  3. Delete, and
  4. check that there are no relationships to the asset.

If it is part of the navigation, you will not see that relationship on this list and you will need to republish your entire website. Otherwise, just make sure Unpublish Content and Production Server are both checked before selecting Delete. You can Cancel any action by selecting Cancel instead and fixing any issues that need to be addressed.

Delete a Page

Deleting a Page is similar to deleting any other asset. The difference is that the Page is typically connected to an _underscore folder (unless it is a Redirect Page). Therefore, you have to Delete both the Page and the _underscore folder to complete the process.

Make sure none of these assets (e.g. page, folder, blocks in the folder) have any Relationships to other assets before deleting.

Adding/Removing a Page from Navigation

Sometimes a Page just needs to be removed from the navigation instead of being outright deleted from the website. This could happen when you restructure your Right Navigation to be more user friendly to your target audience. Adding or removing Pages is as simple as checking or unchecking the Include in right navigation? checkbox, and then Publishing your entire website folder to reflect the changes to your navigation.

If a Page needs to be hidden, do not link to it from any page or include it in the right navigation. Contact Web Services before adding anything that needs to be hidden.

Recovering Web Content

Deleting is different from unpublishing content on the live website in that it is removed from both Cascade CMS and the live website. Pages, files, and content module blocks will go into the Trash bin in Cascade and remain there for 30 days before deleting permanently. If you decide you want your content back before their expiration date, you can

  1. go into the Trash bin under Site Content of the Site the content was deleted from,
  2. select the content you want back, and
  3. select the Restore button to place them back where they were originally located inside Cascade.

They will still need to be published to the live website after restoring, but you should check that they have the right names before republishing the content.

If you inform Web Services that you need to restructure your website, we can archive your old structure that was published to the live website and then delete it from the live website and Cascade CMS, giving you a little more time to reconsider if deleting the old web content was what you really wanted to do.