Skip to page content
Return to Top

Tarleton State Bands

History and FacultyFuture MembersEnsemblesCamps and Festivals

Concert #1, 2013-2014 Season


Press Release

Tarleton Wind Ensemble to Present Orchestral Concert

The halls of the Clyde H. Wells Fine Arts Center Auditorium will be filled with orchestral music from the late 19th and 20th centuries on Thursday, October 10 at 7:30 p.m.  Although the hall will be filled with orchestral music, there will not be an orchestra present.  Instead, the Tarleton State Wind Ensemble will be performing its first concert of the academic season.

Conducted by Anthony Pursell, Tarleton’s Director of Bands, the concert will open with Dmitri Shostakovich’s Festive Overture, op. 96.  Written in 1954 to commemorate the 37th anniversary of the October Revolution (or Bolshevik Revolution), Festive Overture is a standard ‘war-horse’ in the orchestral literature.  Other selections on the concert include works by major orchestral composers Antonín Dvořák, Sergei Rachmaninoff, and Sergei Prokofiev.  Joining the Wind Ensemble will be vocal faculty member and alumnus, Dr. Heather Hawk, who will be singing ‘Urlicht’, the fourth movement from Gustav Mahler’s Symphony #2.

Pursell describes the opportunity to perform this concert as ‘necessary’.  “The occasion for our students to perform major orchestral literature should not be limited to a program with strings as the concert band medium is able to provide many of the same colors and timbres that an orchestra produces.  What is a complete challenge is that the arrangements of these works are all identical to the original work.  Many of the fast-paced violin and viola parts are in the woodwinds and upper brasses.  This alone makes these selections difficult to perform.”

This will be the Wind Ensemble’s first concert of the 2013-2014 academic year.  The Wind Ensemble is in the process of preparing exciting concerts for their home audience and eventually for the citizens and visitors of New York City.  In April 2014 the Wind Ensemble will be one of two featured university music programs from around the country who will present a concert in Carnegie Hall. 

Tickets for the October 10th concert go on sale one hour prior to the concert.  Prices are $5.00 for general admission seating.  Students, faculty, and staff are free with Tarleton ID.


October 10, 2013
Overtures & Finales
An Evening of Orchestral Transcriptions
for Winds & Percussion

Festive Overture, Dmitri Shostakovich/Hunsberger
Slavonic Dance, Op. 46, No. 8, Antonin Dvorak/Hanna
Symphony #9 in e minor, From the New World, mvt IV, Allegro con fuoco, Antonin Dvorak/Hindsley
Urlicht, Gustav Mahler/Hanna; Dr. Heather Hawk, soloist
Symphony #1 in d minor, op. 13, mvt IV, Allegro con fuoco, Sergei Rachmaninoff/Hanna
March, op. 99, Sergei Prokofieff/Yoder