Skip to page content
Return to Top

Strategy Leaders


The 2015-2020 Strategic Plan, Tarleton 2020: Student Focused – Value Driven, was released on November 1, 2013.   The 20-month planning process included numerous public forums and campus meetings, and hours of discussion and effort across the university community. The result is an ambitious new long-term plan focused on four goals, Academic Innovation, Student Transformation, Distinctive Engagement, and Exemplary Service.  These goals and their strategies are designed to establish Tarleton as the “premier, student-focused university in Texas and beyond.”

For each initiative in the plan, the Executive Cabinet identified Strategy Leaders who are charged with implementation of an assigned strategy.  These Strategy Leaders provide quarterly reports to their respective Vice Presidents. In addition, they meet together on a regular basis in order to discuss implementation issues, provide project updates, and collaborate as a group. Below you will find some highlights in the implementation process.

List of Leaders (Updated November 2015)

Strategy Leader
Academic Innovation
AI1.a. Evaluate the academic program inventory for additions and deletions. Diane Taylor
AI1.b. Use the Strategic Enrollment Plan to inform planning and operations of all divisions. Javier Garza
AI1.c. Expand graduate programs.  Add masters and select doctoral. Barry Lambert
AI2.a. Expand the mission of the Center for Instructional Innovation (CII) to encourage cross-disciplinary collaboration, promote scholarship of teaching and learning, and implement best practices in teaching and learning. Kelley Shaffer
AI2.b. Develop new spaces to support blended and hybrid learning. Redesign existing spaces to support problem based learning. Karen Murray
AI2.c. Participate in the new TAMUS RELLIS MITC campus. Karen Murray
AI2.d. Increase student learning in high DFW rate courses by incentivizing high impact experience redesign proposals. Diane Taylor
AI3.a. Identify and implement student support programs to support the “Re-imagining the First Year Experience” initiative.  Jennifer Edwards
AI3.b. Expand living and learning model for student persistence. Shelley Brown
AI3.c. Be a leader among AASCU institutions in student success matters. Jennifer Edwards
AI3.d. Become a national model for honors college living and learning experience. Craig Clifford
AI3.e. Become a national model for experiential learning, student leadership development and service. Wayne Atchley
AI4.a. Become a national model in data mining research. Barry Lambert
AI4.b. Become a state leader in criminal justice education and research. Alex del Carmen
AI4.c. Position Texas as a national leader to attract business and industry. James Pierce
AI4.d. Position Texas as a national leader in quality of life for our citizens. Jordan Barkley
Student Transformation
ST1.a. Establish a signature set of high impact learning experiences. Donna Strohmeyer, Eric Morrow, Charles Howard
ST1.b. Expand proactive academic advising. Rusty Freed
ST2.a. Develop and implement a comprehensive co-curricular program that reinforces student learning outcomes. Laura Boren
ST2.b. Implement a comprehensive student leadership program. Darrell Brown
ST2.c. Enhance the impact of the residential experience on student engagement and success. Bobby Waddell
ST2.d. Implement a comprehensive student civic engagement program. Eric Morrow, Denae Dorris, Darrell Brown
ST2.e. Identify marketable skills relevant to each academic, general education, and co-curricular program. Diane Taylor
ST3.a. Enhance the impact of the university’s core values on student success. Laura Boren
ST3.b. Increase faculty and staff diversity, and recruit a student body across all colleges more representative of the population of Texas. Jennifer Edwards, Laura Boren, Lora Helvie-Mason
ST3.c. Elevate efforts to create a proactive violence prevention community. Caris Thetford
ST3.d. Implement a comprehensive holistic wellness program. Brenda Faulkner
ST3.e. Strengthen multicultural programming. Lora Helvie-Mason
Distinctive Engagement
DE1.a. Strengthen and expand partnerships with Top Academic Partners.  Kim Rynearson
DE1.b. Strengthen and increase mutually beneficial partnerships with business/industry, agencies, & non-profit organizations. Kyle McGregor
DE1.c. Expand the programming of the Office of Academic Engagement. Denae Dorris
DE1.d. Implement a comprehensive major gifts campaign.  Janice Horak
DE2.a. Advance the marketing and branding campaign.  Harry Battson
DE2.b. Improve communication processes. Harry Battson
DE2.c. Improve communication processes by employing CRM communication/marketing plans to streamline and customize student experience from prospect and inquiry stages through enrollment. Javier Garza
DE3.a. Enhance the external recognition of Tarleton programs and people.  Harry Battson
DE3.b. Enhance the national reputation of distinctive co-curricular programs. Laura Boren
DE3.c. Enhance the national reputation of Tarleton athletic programs. Lonn Reisman
Exemplary Service
ES1.a. Enhance the annual week of service. Denae Dorris
ES1.b. Develop a conceptual framework to define, support, and enhance a culture of exemplary service. Angie Brown
ES1.c. Provide ongoing assessments of constituent service satisfaction. Mike Haynes
ES2.a. Implement and use the appropriate software to provide financial forecasting capabilities for the university. Lori Beaty
ES2.b. Develop long term projection model for sustainable IT operations. Becky Gray
ES2.c. Develop a plan to enhance Banner use and functionality, particularly as it relates to RFY. Becky Gray
ES2.d. Achieve and maintain staffing levels at an appropriate level to ensure that service standards are met. Tye Minckler
ES2.e. Develop a verification protocol for the SSC contract. Elaine Chew
ES3.a. Enhance sustainability. Laura Boren
ES3.b. Develop a communication plan to educate and inform the campus community regarding AASHE and the STARS Report. Kent Styron

Strategic Leader Meetings