Tarleton awards 874 diplomas during 201st commencement ceremony

201st Commencement Ceremony

Tarleton State University

Monday, December 16, 2013

STEPHENVILLE, Texas—Tarleton graduated its Class of 2013 and celebrated its 201st commencement ceremony on Saturday with nearly 900 diplomas awarded to the newest group of alumni.

Tarleton President F. Dominic Dottavio presided over four ceremonies held inside Wisdom Gymnasium and challenged the new graduates to “dream big and imagine results, stand for something and inspire others.”

A total of 739 undergraduates received bachelor’s degrees while 135 received their master’s from one of the university’s five academic colleges.

“This is your time, your well-deserved celebration,” Dottavio said in his remarks. “During this season of lights and celebrations the holidays are made brighter by the achievements of today’s graduates. As students, they contributed to the quality of life at Tarleton. As graduates, they go into the world prepared for citizenship and service, and for leadership in their families, communities and careers.”

The ceremony included a moment to recognize Paris, Texas-native Bailey Gasch, whose degree in animal production was awarded posthumously and presented to her parents by President Dottavio. Gasch, an avid horsewoman and flag girl for the Fort Worth Stockyards Championship Rodeo, passed away Aug. 30 following a horseback riding accident.

Commencement also included remarks by student speakers for each of the four ceremonies, including: Alexandria Duncan of Bluff Dale, representing the College of Business Administration; Kyndall Trnka of Caldwell, representing the College of Education; Lauren Bales of Hico, representing the College of Science and Technology; and Jacob White of China Spring, serving as speaker from the College of Liberal and Fine Arts.

The presentation of Departmental Outstanding Graduates preceded each college’s processional. The graduates, selected by the administration and faculty in the student’s major department, were chosen for excelling in leadership as well as academics.

The honorees include: Kevin Higgins of Fort Worth, accounting, finance and economics; Charity Shelbourne of North Richland Hills, computer information systems; Alexandria Duncan of Bluff Dale, management, marketing and administrative systems; Melody Holly of Granbury, curriculum and instruction; Kyndall Trnka of Caldwell, kinesiology; Chin Yeow of Cleburne, biological sciences; Jeffrey Hicks of Poolville, chemistry, geosciences and physics; Ely Symm of Farwell, engineering and computer science; and Lauren Bales of Hico, engineering technology.

Additional Departmental Outstanding Graduates include: Eric Olivas of Granbury, mathematics; Jennifer Dykes of Fort Worth, medical laboratory sciences; Julie Weems of Stephenville, nursing; Ashley Stegemoeller of Stephenville, agricultural and consumer sciences; Brooke Boyd of Georgetown, animal science and wildlife management; Jacob White of China Spring, environmental and agricultural management; Ian Troub of Copperas Cove, communication studies; Natalie Stringer of Stephenville, English and languages; and Whitney VanZandt of Stephenville, fine arts.


Tarleton State University
A member of The Texas A&M University System

Contact: Kurt Mogonye

Facebook Twitter

Tarleton awards 874 diplomas during 201st commencement ceremony - Media Relations - Tarleton State University