2014 Athletics Hall of Fame class announced

Tarleton State University

Monday, December 16, 2013

STEPHENVILLE, Texas—The Tarleton State Athletics Department has announced its 2014 inductees to the Tarleton Athletics Hall of Fame.

The class includes eight former student-athletes from baseball, football, women’s tennis, men’s basketball and men’s track and field teams. The inductees include: Tommy Keeling (baseball, 1994-97), Eddie Washington (football, 1990-91), Alicia Cummings (women's tennis, 2003-06), Jeffrey McFadden (basketball, 1988-90) and the 1959 Sprint Relay Team (track and field).

Tommy Keeling
Keeling was a four-year standout outfielder for the Texans from 1994-97. He was a two-time team MVP and a three-time All-Lone Star Conference First Team selection. Keeling was Tarleton’s Newcomer of the Year in 1994 and was also awarded the team’s Big Stick Award in 1994, 1996 and 1997. In his final season with the Texans, Keeling was tabbed a Second Team All-American selection after hitting .417 with 25 doubles, 12 home runs 53 runs batted in. Keeling still owns career school records in at bats (750, hits (283) and doubles (72). His 25 doubles in 1997 still rank first all-time in a single season in school history, as do his 157 total bases he tallied in 1996.

Eddie Washington
Washington was a two-year letter winner for the Texans from 1990-91. He led the team in sacks both seasons he played and still holds the school’s single-season record for sacks with 23 total sacks during the 1990 season. A two-time First Team TIAA selection, Washington was also tabbed the team’s Defensive MVP both seasons he donned the purple and white. Washington was a two-time All-American selection as well and finished his career with more than 120 tackles with 13 of those netting for loss in yardage. His career total of 36 sacks still stands as the school’s all-time record for sacks in a career.

Alicia Cummings
Cummings was a four-year letter  winner for the TexAnn tennis team from 2003-06. She was the pinnacle for Tarleton’s success on the tennis court as she helped guide the TexAnns to its first-ever appearance in the NCAA Division II Elite Eight Championships in 2006. She was the LSC’s Freshman of the Year in 2003 and also earned First Team All-LSC honors in all four seasons on the court as well. Cummings was a three-time LSC All-Academic selection and was named an ESPN Academic All-American in her final season with the TexAnns in 2006. In her senior season with the TexAnns, she helped guide the team to a 20-3 record and was named the LSC’s Player of the Year. Cummings earned the Arthur Ashe Award from the ITA in 2005.

Jeffrey McFadden
McFadden was a two-year letter winner for the Texan basketball team from 1988-90. In his two seasons with the Texans, McFadden helped guide the team to a 44-16 record and two TIAA Championships. He led the Texans in shooting percentage, points per game and rebounds in each of his two seasons at Tarleton. At the time of his graduation, McFadden held six school records, with two of those records still intact, including: field goals made (275) and field goal percentage (.661). McFadden was a two-time All-TIAA selection, a District VIII Player of the Year and a NAIA Second Team All-American selection during his career. McFadden was also a CBA draftee following his senior season with the Texans.

1959 Sprint Relay Team
The 1959 Tarleton State Men’s Sprint Relay Team, which consisted of Franklin Wood, Jackie Russell, Guy Golden and Larry Jones, were the National Junior College Track and Field Champions in the 440-yard sprint relay event. The sprint relay team was Tarleton’s first-ever national championship team in school history.

With these inductees, the Athletics Hall of Fame now boasts 148 members, including 67 football players, 16 baseball players, three women’s tennis players, 37 men’s basketball players and two track and field teams.

The Tarleton Athletic Hall of Fame Weekend is scheduled for May 2-May 3.


Tarleton State University
A member of The Texas A&M University System

Contact: Dameon Myres, director of athletic communications

Facebook Twitter

2014 Athletics Hall of Fame class announced - Media Relations - Tarleton State University