Students attend sports medicine meeting

TACSM Attendees

Tarleton State University

Thursday, March 7, 2013

STEPHENVILLE, Texas—Twelve students in the kinesiology and the sports medicine program represented Tarleton at the Texas American College of Sports Medicine (TACSM) Regional Meeting in Austin Feb. 28_March 2.Four scientific posters were presented, and three students competed in the TACSM exercise science student bowl. The students’ abstracts are published in the International Journal of Exercise Science: Conference Abstract Submissions.

Two scientific posters were presented in the master’s student division by Jamie Cvikel and Annie Nalepa, one in the undergraduate category by Ryan Eaton, and one in the post-professional category by Will Kaing.

Students competing in the exercise science student bowl included Cvikel, Jacob Harp and Megan Schreiber. They were among 21 teams from 16 universities in the state of Texas who were competing for travel money to attend the national ACSM meeting in June.

Jennifer Blevins-McNaughton, an associate professor in the Department of Kinesiology, was elected to serve as a non-medicine board member for the TACSM Chapter from 2013 to 2015.

Other students attending the meeting included Chelsea Bartz, Melanie Bush, Whitney Garland, Chris Hearell, Cyler Matlock, Courteney Morris and Brittney Seymour.

Funds for student travel came from travel grants from the Office of Student Research and Creative Activities and the Clinical Exercise Research Facility in the Department of Kinesiology.


Tarleton State University
A member of The Texas A&M University System

Contact: Jennifer Blevins-McNaughton

Facebook Twitter

Students attend sports medicine meeting - Media Relations - Tarleton State University