Nominations for Crystal Apple Society honorees due Jan. 25

Tarleton State University

Friday, January 11, 2013

STEPHENVILLE, Texas—The College of Education at Tarleton State University continues to accept honoree nominations for its upcoming second annual Crystal Apple Society induction, Thursday, Feb. 22, at 6 p.m. in the Barry B. Thompson Student Center ballrooms.

The college established the award last year to honor educators who have made a positive impact on the lives of students. “Perhaps it was a second-grade teacher who instilled a love of reading, a coach who inspired you to achieve, a high school teacher whose knowledge of biology influenced your career choice, a counselor who convinced you to attend college or an administrator who provided support,” said Dr. Jill Burk, dean of Tarleton’s College of Education. “We all can think of special educators who made a difference in our lives and the lives of others. The Crystal Apple Society is the perfect opportunity to honor these dedicated individuals.”

Honorees can be current or former teachers, principals, superintendents, librarians, counselors, coaches or university professors, said Burk. While Tarleton is sponsoring this award, honored educators and sponsors do not need to be affiliated with Tarleton.

Among those honored at the first induction dinner were: Linda Sue Nutter Beach, a veteran elementary teacher at Hico ISD; Dr. Stuart Chilton, retired assistant professor of journalism and former dean of student personnel services at Tarleton; Glenna Kay Hall Floyd, retired mentor and reading instructor with Tarleton’s Department of Curriculum and Instruction; Dr. George Lamb, retired professor of geology at the University of South Alabama; and Joan Lamb, retired social studies teacher.

Also honored were: Jennifer McGregor, instructor in Tarleton’s Department of Curriculum and Instruction; Dr. Betty Jo Monk, professor of educational administration at Tarleton; the late Dr. H. Lynn “Doc” Russell, former public school administrator and Louisiana state assistant superintendent for vocational education; and Lisa West, third-grade teacher at Stephenville ISD.

Those wishing to honor an educator will make a donation of $500. The gift, which is an important source of funding for student scholarships, underwrites the induction dinner for the honoree, sponsor and two guests as well as a special gift presented to the educator at the celebration event.

Additional dinner tickets are available for purchase if a group of individuals would like to collectively sponsor a single award. Nomination forms can be found online at: The deadline for nominations is Friday, Jan. 25. Please contact Dr. Burk at 254-968-9088 or for more information.


Tarleton State University
A member of The Texas A&M University System

Contact: Kurt Mogonye

Facebook Twitter

Nominations for Crystal Apple Society honorees due Jan. 25 - Media Relations - Tarleton State University