Tarleton to induct eight into Rodeo Hall of Fame

Tarleton State University

Thursday, October 4, 2012

STEPHENVILLE, Texas—Tarleton State University’s renowned rodeo program is known for having some of the toughest and most talented student competitors among National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association (NIRA) members, and to celebrate their achievements during the past 65 years, a Rodeo Hall of Fame has been established to recognize some of the cowboys and cowgirls who have brought notoriety to the sport and university.

The induction of the eight inaugural honorees into the Tarleton Rodeo Hall of Fame will take place at 7 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 3 at City Limits’ banquet facility, City Hall, in conjunction with the 3rd annual steak dinner and auction which benefits the rodeo program’s scholarship fund. Among the items included in the auction are guided mule deer and elk hunts in Wyoming, custom leather western boots, clothing and jewelry, tack, professional roping lessons and more. Items will be on display for bidding beginning at 6:30.

Selected for induction into the Tarleton Rodeo Hall of Fame are the 1969-71 women’s championship team members: Sally Preston, Karen Walls, Angie Watts Averhoff, Connie Wilkinson Wood, Vicki Higgins Emerson, Martha Tompkins Wright and Sharon Harrison Youngblood. Hadley Reed will also join the ladies as part of the inaugural inductees.

Competing for the purple and white under the motto, “A Winning Tradition,” Tarleton’s rodeo teams have won six national championship titles, 19 individual national championships, and numerous NIRA Southwest Region titles since the program was established in 1947. In 2011-12, Tarleton boasted one of the largest rodeo teams in the nation with 115 card-holding student members.

Tickets to the event are $50 per couple and are now on sale at the Tarleton Rodeo Office, located inside the Barry B. Thompson Student Center, Room 207-A. For more information about the Hall of Fame induction and dinner, please call (254) 968-9187 or email head coach Mark Eakin, eakin@tarleton.edu or assistant rodeo coach Tibba Smith, tibbasmith@tarleton.edu.


Tarleton State University
A member of The Texas A&M University System

Contact: Kurt Mogonye

Facebook Twitter

Tarleton to induct eight into Rodeo Hall of Fame - Media Relations - Tarleton State University