Skip to page content
Return to Top

Faculty and Staff

Animal Sciences
Dr. W.F. "Frank" OwsleyDr. W.F. "Frank" Owsley
Professor and Department Head
Email: owsley@tarleton.edu
Office: Autry 116
Phone: (254)-968-9216

Dr. Owsley joined the faculty in July, 2015 as Professor and Department head. He spent the last 24 years as an Extension specialist with Auburn University and the Alabama Cooperative Extension System, focusing on food animal quality assurance, animal care/well-being and environmental stewardship. From 1982 to 1990, he was an Extension Animal Scientist with the University of Georgie, focusing on swine production and nutrition. Dr. Owsley completed his Ph.D. at Texas Tech University, and his B.S. and M.S. at Texas A&M University. He was born in San Antonio and grew up in Copperas Cove.

Ms. Lisa TuckMs. Lisa Tuck
Administrative Assistant IV
Email: tuck@tarleton.edu
Office: Autry 116
Phone: (254)-968-9222
Ms. Michelle CockrellMs. Michelle Cockrell
Instructor & Coordinator of Veterinary Technology
Email: mcockrell@tarleton.edu
Office: Autry 309D
Phone: (254)-968-9259
Mr. Bob DotyMr. Bob Doty
Instructor
Email: bdoty@tarleton.edu
Office: Autry 306A
Phone: (254)-968-9337
Mr. Mark EakinMr. Mark Eakin
Instructor and Rodeo Director
Email: eakin@tarleton.edu
Office: Student Center 201L
Phone: (254)-968-9187
Dr. Kimberly GuayDr. Kimberly Guay
Assistant Professor
Email: guay@tarleton.edu
Office: Dairy 102
Phone: (254(-968-9711
Mr. Jared JacksonMr. Jared Jackson
Instructor
Email: jjackson@tarleton.edu
Office: Autry 305B
Phone: (254)-968-9657
Dr. Trinette JonesDr. Trinette Jones
Assistant Professor
Email: tnjones@tarleton.edu
Office: Autry 305A
Phone: (254)-968-9636
Dr. Lea Ann KinmanDr. Lea Ann Kinman
Assistant Professor
Email: kinman@tarleton.edu
Office: Autry 309A
Phone: (254)-968-9213

Dr. Kinman obtained her B.S. from Oklahoma Panhandle State University, M.S. at Texas A&M University-Commerce and after 7 years in the industry returned to school and completed her Ph.D. at Oklahoma State University. Following completion of her Doctorate she was the Meat Science Instructor and Director of the Clark Meat Science Center at Oregon State University. Following a short time with Handtmann Inc. as the Director of Meat Technologies, she returned to academics at Iowa State University as a Lecturer and Internship Coordinator in the Food Science and Human Nutrition Department. Dr. Kinman joined the Tarleton faculty in the fall of 2014 as an Assistant Professor focusing on ingredient functionality in value-added processed meat products as well as pathogen survival during common consumer food handling methods.​ 

Dr. Barry LambertDr. Barry Lambert
Professor & Associate Vice President for Research & Dean of the College of Graduate Studies
Email: blambert@tarleton.edu
Office: ADMIN ANNEX 11 Room 100
Phone: (254)-968-9463
Mrs. Shelby D. Price Mrs. Shelby D. Price
Instructor and Coordinator of Tarleton's Equine Assisted Therapeutic Riding program
Email: sdprice@tarleton.edu
Office: Equine Center 101C
Phone: (254)-968-9847

Mrs. Price joined the faculty in September 2014 as an instructor and coordinator of Tarleton’s Equine Assisted Therapeutic Riding program, also known as TREAT Riding. As she worked through her bachelor’s degree in animal industries (2011) here at TSU, she worked with the program as a student worker and then later as the graduate assistant. While finishing her master’s in business administration (2013) also at TSU, she completed her registered level therapeutic riding instructor certification with PATH, International.​

Dr. David RoperDr. David Roper
Assistant Professor
Email: droper@tarleton.edu
Office: Autry 309C
Phone: (254)-968-9212

Dr. Roper is originally from Bell County, TX where he was active in 4-H & FFA. He completed a BS (2005) from Texas A&M University while judging on the 2003 Meats and 2004 National Champion Livestock teams. He worked shortly for Ultimate Genetics but returned to the University of Tennessee-Knoxville in 2007 to complete his MS and PhD in Bovine Reproduction. After graduate school he served as the Youth Livestock Specialist for Virginia and coached the 2015 National Champion 4-H Livestock Judging team. Dr. Roper joined the TSU faculty in September 2016 as Assistant Professor & Live Animal Evaluation Coordinator. Dr. Roper provides instruction in multiple classes and is involved with graduate research efforts. His teaching responsibilities include courses in Live Animal Evaluation, Livestock Management, and Sheep and Goat Production. From a research perspective, his major area of focus is Bovine Reproduction with a growing interest in Small Ruminant Reproduction.

Dr. Randy RosiereDr. Randy Rosiere
Professor
Email: rosiere@tarleton.edu
Office: Autry 208
Phone: (254)-968-9218
Dr. Jason SawyerDr. Jason Sawyer
Assistant Professor
Email: sawyer@tarleton.edu
Office: Meat Lab
Phone: (254)-968-1836
Dr. Jason Sawyer was born in Manhattan, Kansas in 1976. He attended Kansas State University from 1997-2000 for his B.S. degree and competed on the Wool Judging Team while being very active in undergraduate research with the Swine Nutrition Laboratories of Dr. Jim Nelssen, Dr. Robert Goodband, and Dr. Mike Tokach.
In 2000 he began a graduate program at Oklahoma State University in Animal Science with emphasis in Meat Science under the guidance of Dr. Gerald Q. Fitch, and Dr. Chance Brooks and graduated with a M.S. in 2003. Following a two year appointment with the University of Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service, he began a Ph.D. at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. As a Ph.D. student for Dr. Jason Apple, his graduate research focused on added value to dark-cutting beef in addition to the nutritional influence of fat sources on pork carcasses and the relationship of surface color on beef muscles. Upon completion of his Ph.D. in 2008, he started his career as Senior Food Technologist with Tyson Foods, Inc. focusing on shelf-life characteristics. In January 2010 he joined the Animal Science and Veterinary Technology Faculty at Tarleton State University with a Research, Teaching and Service appointment in the area of Meat Science. He currently guides the Meat Laboratory, in addition to Undergraduate Student opportunities in Meat Judging, Competitive Cooking, Meat Science Quiz Bowl and Product Development.
Dr. David SnyderDr. David Snyder
Professor and Director of TREAT Program
Email: snyder@tarleton.edu
Office: Autry 305C
Phone: (254) 968-9656
Dr. Jolena WaddellDr. Jolena Waddell
Associate Professor
Email: jwaddell@tarleton.edu
Office: Autry 305A
Phone: (254)-968-0734
Ms. Bobbie WaltonMs. Bobbie Walton
Instructor & Director of the Equine Center
Email: rwalton@tarleton.edu
Office: Equine Center 101A
Phone: (254)-968-9679
Dr. John V. ZiskDr. John V. Zisk
Director of Veterinary Technology DVM MEd
Email: zisk@tarleton.edu
Office: Autry 304
Phone: (254)-968-9211