Skip to page content
Return to Top

Faculty and Staff

Accounting, Finance, & Economics
Dr. Keldon BauerDr. Keldon Bauer
Department Head and Assistant Professor
Email: kbauer@tarleton.edu
Office: BUS 125
Phone: 254-968-9909

BA in Finance from the University of Utah.  Minor in German.

MBA from the University of Utah.  Emphasis on Quantitative Analysis.

Ph.D. in Finance from Texas Tech University.  Minors in Economics and Statistics.

Teaching interests:  Corporate finance, financial markets & institutions, investments

Research interests:  Financial institutions - particularly credit unions, and the use of technology in banking.

Ms. Rebecca NorrisMs. Rebecca Norris
Administrative Assistant III
Email: rnorris@tarleton.edu
Office: BUS 125
Phone: 254-968-9331
Mr. Curtis W. AtchleyMr. Curtis W. Atchley
Instructor (2009)
Email: catchley@tarleton.edu
Office: Waco - MAC 231
Phone: 254-299-8785

BS, Friends University, 1999;

MSA, Tabor College, 2003.

Ms. Judith CadleMs. Judith Cadle
Assistant Professor (1992)
Email: jcadle@tarleton.edu
Office: BUS 112
Phone: 254-968-9940

BBA, Tarleton State University, 1989,

MBA, Tarleton State University, 1991.

Teaching Interests: Accounting

Dr. Omar EsquedaDr. Omar Esqueda
Assistant Professor
Email: esqueda@tarleton.edu
Office: BUS 115
Phone: 254-968-9908

BS in Accounting from Universidad Autonoma de Tamaulipas

MBA from University of Texas Pan American

PhD in Business Administration from University of Texas Pan American

Teaching Interests: Corporate Finance, Financial Management, International Finance, Financial Intermediaries

Research Interests: Cross-listings, ADRs, International Corporate Finance, Financial Intermediaries

Dr. Hussain JafriDr. Hussain Jafri
Professor (1989, 1994)
Email: jafri@tarleton.edu
Office: BUS 106
Phone: 254-968-9633

BS, AP Agricultural University of India, 1973; MS, Cornell University, 1976;

MA, University of Wisconsin, 1980; PhD, University of Wisconsin, 1986.

Teaching Interests: Economics

Mr. Judd LeachMr. Judd Leach
Assistant Professor
Email: jleach@tarleton.edu
Office: BUS 126
Phone: 254-968-1861

Juris Doctor - Southern Methodist University, Law

BA - The University of Texas at Austin, History

Teaching Interests: Business law,

Research Interests: Business aspects of delivering legal services, recession's affect on perceptions of the value and pricing of legal services, effect of federal law and policy on small agribusinesses, Liability issues on subsurface resource

Dr. Chao LiuDr. Chao Liu
Associate Professor (1984)
Email: liu@tarleton.edu
Office: BUS 122
Phone: 254-968-9907

BA, National Taiwan University, 1964;

MBA, University of Georgia, 1970;

Ph.D, North Texas State University, 1982;

CPA, 1974.

Teaching Interests: Accounting

Dr. Johnny NelsonDr. Johnny Nelson
Assistant Professor
Email: jnelson@tarleton.edu
Office: BUS 105
Phone: 254-968-1922
Mr. Richard PetronisMr. Richard Petronis
Professor
Email: petroni@tarleton.edu
Office: BUS 135
Phone: 254-968-9086

J.D. - University of Arkansas School of Law
BS - Arkansas Polytechnic College, Business/Economics
U.S. Army Command and General Staff College

Teaching Interests: Commercial Law, Real Estate Law, Employment Law, International Business Law

Research Interests: Constitutional issues relating to public education.

Dr. Rick RichardsonDr. Rick Richardson
Assistant Professor; Senior Vice President, Advancement & External Relations
Email: rrichardson@tarleton.edu
Office: Administration Building, Room 227
Phone: 254-968-9890

Ph.D. - Regent University, Organizational Leadership

MBA - Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, Management

J.D. - Baylor University School of Law

BBA - Baylor University, Marketing

Teaching Interests:  Business Law

Professional Certifications & Licenses: Certified Public Accountant, Texas State Board of Public Accountancy; Board Certified, Estate Planning & Probate Law, Texas Board of Legal Specialization; Attorney & Counselor at Law, State Bar of Texas

Dr. Sundarrajan SankarDr. Sundarrajan Sankar
Professor
Email: sundar@tarleton.edu
Office: Southwest Metroplex Center - Suite 500
Phone: 817-732-7312
PhD, 1995

MA, University of Alabama, 1990

MBA, 1985

BA, University of Bombay, 1981

Ms. Ashley SchieckMs. Ashley Schieck
Assistant Professor
Email: schieck@tarleton.edu
Office: BUS 111
Phone: 254-968-9852

J.D. Law from Southern Methodist University

MS - Baylor University, Accounting

BS - Baylor University, Accounting

Dr. Steve SteedDr. Steve Steed
Professor and Interim Dean (1989)
Email: ssteed@tarleton.edu
Office: BUS 173
Phone: 254-968-9645

BBA, McMurry College, 1968;

MBA, Hardin-Simmons University, 1971;

PhD, North Texas State University, 1985;

CPA, 1980.

Mr. Alex TanterMr. Alex Tanter
Assistant Professor
Email: atanter@tarleton.edu
Office: BUS 107
Phone: 254-968-9183

MA, The University of Massachusetts Amherst - Economics

BA, University of Warwick, England - Economics and Politics

Teaching Interests: Intermediate Micro Economics, Environmental Economics, US Economic Development

Research Interests: Environmental Economics, Financial Economics

Ms. Karen D. VarnellMs. Karen D. Varnell
Assistant Professor (2006)
Email: varnell@tarleton.edu
Office: BUS 121
Phone: 254-968-9915

BS - Angelo State University (1985)

CPA - (1988)

MBA - Tarleton State University (1998)

Teaching Interests: Accounting

Ms. Linda WadeMs. Linda Wade
Assistant Professor (1982)
Email: lwade@tarleton.edu
Office: BUS 120
Phone: 254-968-9914

MBA, 1982

CPA 1984

BBA - Tarleton State University, 1979

Dr. Arthur YoungDr. Arthur Young
Professor
Email: ayoung@tarleton.edu
Office: BUS 114
Phone: 254-968-9358

Ph.D. - Texas Tech University - Business Administration (Concentration: Accounting/Tax)

MBA - University of Texas Austin

BS - Trinity University - Business Administration (Concentration in Accounting)

Teaching Interests: Accounting (Financial, Auditing, Cost, Intermediate, and Advanced)

Research Interests: Oil and Gas Accounting, Financial Accounting