Skip to page content
Return to Top

Faculty and Staff

Full Time Faculty
Bowen BrawnerBowen Brawner
Associate Professor and Department Head; Coordinator of the Graduate Program in Mathematics, Campus Leader for Texas Collaborative for Excellence in Teacher Preparation -TxCEPT
Email: brawner@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 142
Phone: 254-968-9168

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin, 2001

M.S., Southwest Texas State University 1995

B.A., The University of Texas at Austin, 1993

http://faculty.tarleton.edu/brawner

Teaching Interests: Mathematics Education

Jeremiah BassJeremiah Bass
Visiting Assistant Professor
Email: jbass@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 309
Phone: 254-968-9161
Jesse CrawfordJesse Crawford
Assistant Professor
Email: jcrawford@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 332
Phone: 254-968-9536

Ph.D. in Mathematics, Indiana University, 2008.

B.S. in Mathematics, Angelo State University, 2002.

Teaching Interests: Teaching mathematics and statistics courses and directing student research at the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Research Interests: Theoretical statistics, including the study of multivariate normal models given by group symmetries or graphs. Applied statistics, including applications of linear regression models and logistic regression models. I am also interested in education research, financial mathematics, mathematical biology, and game theory.

Keith EmmertKeith Emmert
Associate Professor
Email: emmert@tarleton.edu
Office: 330 Math
Phone: 254-968-9302

Ph. D., Applied Mathematics, Texas Tech University, 2004

M.S., Mathematics, Louisiana State University, 1999

B.S., Applied Mathematics, Southeastern Louisiana University, 1996

Educational Interests:

I am interested in teaching both theoretical as well as applied class ranging from Calculus through graduate level. Involving students in undergraduate as well as graduate research, and thesis direction is another aspect of education that is important to me.

Research:

To date, my research has focused on the development of new deterministic and stochastic epidemic models for the spread of disease in a structured host population. Past models have been included difference as well as differential equations with either fixed or periodic coefficients. Current epidemic models include amphibian movement between ponds and competition/predation amongst different species. I use theory as well as simulations to investigate the richness of the models.

Ongoing interdepartmental collaborative work includes studying dairy mastitis and forecast modeling of downy mildew on onions.

Future directions in research include investigating the robustness of stability results, animal movement models, patch models studying the spread and control of influenza, and population genetics. Parallel algorithms and genetic algorithms will most likely be of great use in exploring these new topics.

Soad EmmertSoad Emmert
Instructor
Email: semmert@tarleton.edu
Office: Math 327
Phone: 254-968-9172

M.S. in Statistics, Texas Tech University, 2001

M.S. in Mathematics, Louisiana State University, 1999

B.S. in Mathematic, Yarmouk University, 1997

Teaching Interests: Statistics, Biostatistics, Applied Mathematics

 Eileen Faulkenberry Eileen Faulkenberry
Associate Professor
Email: eileenfaulkenberry@me.com
Office: Math 207
Phone: 254-968-1985
Javier GarzaJavier Garza
Associate Professor
Email: garza@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 132
Phone: 254-968-1958

Ph.D. in Mathematics, University of North Texas, 1994

M.S. in Mathematics (Computer Science minor), Southwest Texas State University, 1989

B.S. in Mathematics (Computer Science minor), Southwest Texas State University, 1987

Teaching Interests: Moore method, Discovery learning, Inquiry-Based Learning Engaging students in undergraduate research

Research Interests: General interests: Mathematical modeling of infectious disease transmission and control Nonlinearly constrained optimation Specific projects: Mathematical modeling of spread and control of cholera Mathematical modeling of the spread and control of mastitis in dairy populations Using Sobolev gradients and steepest descent to find energy-minimizing maps satisfying nonlinear constraints

John GreshamJohn Gresham
Instructor
Email: jgresham@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 131
Phone: 254-968-1954

B.S. in Mathematics, Tarleton State College, 1968

M.S. in Mathematics, Texas Christian University, 1971

PhD in Mathematics, Texas Christian University, 1974

ï»Ãƒƒƒƒƒƒƒ‚¿

Teaching Interests: Teaching Interests: Communicating mathematics on the internet

Kaycie GriffithKaycie Griffith
Instructor
Email: kgriffith@tarleton.edu
Office: Math 235B
Phone: 254-968-9168
Janice GrosecloseJanice Groseclose
Instructor
Email: groseclose@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 326
Phone: 254-968-9168
Rose Ann JacksonRose Ann Jackson
Instructor
Email: rjackson@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 107
Phone: 254-968-1942

M.S., Tarleton State University, 1981

B.S., Tarleton State University, 1976

Teaching Interests: Research Interest: My research all involves math education and the use of manipulatives and hands-on activities for students grades K -12.

Research Interests: My research all involves math education and the use of manipulatives and hands-on activities for students grades K -12.

James C. KirbyJames C. Kirby
Professor, Tarleton State University Regents Professor, Texas A&M University System
Email: kirby@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 342
Phone: 254-968-1907

Ph.D., New Mexico State University, 1983

M.S., New Mexico State University, 1980

B.S., Tarleton State University, 1978

Teaching Interests: Undergraduate Mathematics (Calculus, Trigonometry, Linear Algebra, Differential Equations, Probability and Statistics)

Research Interests: Operations Research and Recreational Mathematics

Pam LittletonPam Littleton
Professor Emeritus
Email: littleton@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 117
Phone: 254-968-9168
Joseph McMahanJoseph McMahan
Instructor
Email: mcmahan@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 217
Phone: 254-968-9168
Kimberly MorrisKimberly Morris
Instructor
Email: kmorris@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 235B
Phone: 254-968-9168
Angie MurrayAngie Murray
Administrative Assistant
Email: amurray@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 142
Phone: 254-968-9168
Mary PetersMary Peters
Instructor
Email: mkpeters@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 235 F
Phone: 254-968-9538
Elizabeth RiggsElizabeth Riggs
Associate Professor
Email: eriggs@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 235 E
Phone: 254-968-9301

Ed.D. in Curriculum & Instruction (Mathematics Education Emphasis), Baylor University, 2003

M.S. in Mathematics, Tarleton State University, 1995

B.S. in Mathematics, Tarleton State University, 1992

Teaching Interests: I enjoy teaching a variety of mathematics courses ranging from Developmental Mathematics through Calculus II and Geometry. In addition, I love working with pre-service teachers at the elementary, middle school, and secondary level.

Kathy SmithKathy Smith
Assistant Professor
Email: ksmith@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 225
Phone: 254-968-9304

Ph.D., Georgia State University, 2000

M. Ed., Tarleton State University, 1990

B.S., Tarleton State University, 1984

Teaching Interests: Elementary and Middle School Mathematics Education, Integration of Mathematics and Science

Research Interests: Development of Academic Language in Mathematics and Development of Numerical Fluency

Dwayne SniderDwayne Snider
Professor & Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs
Email: snider@tarleton.edu
Office: ADMIN 239 or MATH 142
Phone: 254-968-9103

Ph.D., Texas Tech University, 1977

M.S., Texas Tech University, 1973

B.S., Tarleton State University, 1971

Kay TeagueKay Teague
Instructor & Freshman Math Coordinator
Email: teague@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 215
Phone: 254-968-9168

M.S. in Applied Math, Texas A&M University, 1993

B. S. in Education, Baylor University, 1991

Teaching Interests: I am interested in teaching developmental and freshman level math classes. I am also interested in finding, modifying, and/or developing effective pedagogies and activities to enable students to learn math efficiently and understand mathematical concepts. I enjoy using discovery and inquiry-based lessons, as well as interactive lessons designed to involve students in learning.

Michael WarrenMichael Warren
Instructor
Email: mwarren@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 142E
Phone: 254-968-9533
Peter WhitePeter White
Associate Professor
Email: white@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 331
Phone: 254-968-1982

Ph.D, Mathematics (Numerical Analysis), 1994, Oregon State University, advisor: Andre Weideman

M.S., Mathematics (Applied PDE's), 1990, Oregon State University

B.S., Mathematics (Applied Option), 1987, Cal. State Univ. at Chico (CSUC)

B.S., Computer Science (Science Option), 1987, CSUC.

Teaching Interests: Numerical Analysis/Nonlinear PDE's, Computational Mathematics, Mathematical Modeling/Analysis of Biological Systems, Computational Biology, Internet Delivery Systems for Mathematics

Research Interests: Biomathematics and Simulations

Richard WintonRichard Winton
Professor
Email: winton@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 235 D
Phone: 254-968-1978

Ph.D., University of Arlington 1988

M.S., University of Arlington 1984

M.A., North Texas State University 1978

B.S., Dallas Baptist University 1974

Teaching Interests: Matrix Algebra, Linear Algebra, Abstract Algebra, Number Theory and Topology

Research Interests: Group Theory, Ring Theory, Linear Algebra, Number Theory, Cryptology, Topology and Continuum Theory

Kayla WoodKayla Wood
instructor & Freshman Math Corrdinator
Email: kwood@tarleton.edu
Office: Math 142
Phone: 254-968-9533

BS, West Texas A & M University, 1997

MS, West Texas A & M University, 2001

Bryant WyattBryant Wyatt
Associate Professor; Co-director, Office and Student Research and Creative Activities
Email: wyatt@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 142
Phone: 254-968-9168

Ph.D. Applied Mathematics, University of Texas at Arlington, 1992

M.S. Applied Mathematics, University of Texas at Arlington, 1987

B.S. Mathematics, University of Texas at Arlington, 1985

B.A. Physics, University of Texas at Arlington, 1988

Degree Ranch Management, Texas Christian University, 2001

Teaching Interests: My teaching style is Socratic and I enjoy teaching applied mathematics courses.

Research Interests: Computational Mathematics and Particle Modeling.

Graduate Teaching Assistants
Diane CaseyDiane Casey
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: stella.casey@go.tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 303
Phone: 254-968-9168
Kelsey DuffKelsey Duff
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: kelsey.duff@go.tarleton.edu
Office: Math 303
Phone: 254-968-9168
Richard HarvelRichard Harvel
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: harvelsoc@yahoo.com
Office: Math 216
Phone: 254-968-9168
Robert HessRobert Hess
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: robert.hess@go.tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 338
Phone: 254-968-9168
Will MayfieldWill Mayfield
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: will.mayfield@go.tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 303
Phone: 254-968-9168
Steve MerwinSteve Merwin
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: steven.merwin@go.tarleton.edu
Office: Math 338
Phone: 254-968-9168
Carrie NollCarrie Noll
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: carrie.noll@go.tarleton.edu
Office: Math338
Phone: 254-968-9168
Imelda SalinasImelda Salinas
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: imelda_esq@yahoo.com
Office: Math 303
Phone: 254-968-9168
Colleen SeamanColleen Seaman
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: colleen.seaman@go.tarleton.edu
Office: Math 303
Phone: 254-968-9168
Jolynn TuckerJolynn Tucker
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Email: jolynn.lavy@go.tarleton.edu
Office: Math 303
Phone: 254-968-9168
Adjunct Faculty
Carol HaggardCarol Haggard
Adjunct Faculty
Email: carol.haggard@gmail.com
Office: MATH 216
Phone: 254-968-9168
Courtney HollandCourtney Holland
Adjunct Faculty
Email: courtney.holland@sville.us
Office: MATH 235B
Phone: 254-968-9168
Peggy LawlessPeggy Lawless
Adjunct Faculty
Email: peggyloulawless@yahoo.com
Office: MATH 216
Phone: 254-968-9168
William McFerrinWilliam McFerrin
Adjunct Faculty
Email: mcferrin@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 216
Phone: 254-968-9168
Amy RiordanAmy Riordan
Adjunct Faculty
Email: riordana@erau.edu
Office: MATH 216
Phone: 254-968-9168
Mickey SargentMickey Sargent
Adjunct Faculty
Email: sargent@tarleton.edu
Office: MATH 131
Phone: 254-968-1954
Patti WilliamsPatti Williams
Adjunct Faculty
Email: patti.williams@sville.us
Office: MATH 235B
Phone: 254-968-9168
Data Miner Graduate Students
Adam WissemanAdam Wisseman
Graduate Student
Email: adamwisseman@gmail.com
Office: N/A
Phone: N/A
Charles GibsonCharles Gibson
Graduate Student
Email: charles.gibson@go.tarleton.edu
Office: N/A
Phone: N/A
Daniel MysnykDaniel Mysnyk
Graduate Student
Email: daniel.mysnyk@go.tarleton.edu
Office: N/A
Phone: N/A
Rebecca AtorRebecca Ator
Graduate Student
Email: rebecca.ator@go.tarleton.edu
Office: N/A
Phone: N/A