Skip to page content
Return to Top

Faculty and Staff

English & Languages
Dr. Jeanelle BarrettDr. Jeanelle Barrett
Department Head, English & Languages and Associate Professor
Email: jbarrett@tarleton.edu
Office: O A Grant 327
Phone: 254-968-9039
B.A., English, University of Central Oklahoma, 1994
M.A., English linguistics, Purdue University, 1997
Ph.D., English linguistics, Purdue University, 2000

Teaching Interests: Linguistics, grammars and technical writing

Research Interests: Linguistics, technical writing and humor studies

Ms. Loretta L BristerMs. Loretta L Brister
Assistant Professor
Email: brister@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 327
Phone: (254) 968-9039
B.A., Tarleton State University, 1983
MAT, Tarleton State University, 1985
Ms. Marissa BurnsMs. Marissa Burns
Administrative Assistant III
Email: mburns@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 327
Phone: 254-968-9039
Dr. Julie A ChappellDr. Julie A Chappell
Professor
Email: chappell@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 312
Phone: (254) 968-9320
B.A., University of California San Diego, 1983
M.A., University of Washington
Ph.D., University of Washington, 1989

Research Interests: Medieval-Early Modern British Literature, Textual studies, Medieval sermon studies

Dr. Samuel F. DodsonDr. Samuel F. Dodson
Professor
Email: dodson@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 315
Phone: (254) 968-9034
B.A., University of Nebraska - Omaha, 1981
M.A., University of Lowa, 1985
Ph.D., University of Nebraska - Lincoln, 1995

Research Interests: Modern American poetry, Film studies, Poetry performance

Mr. Michael D DooleyMr. Michael D Dooley
Assistant Professor
Email: dooley@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 332
Phone: (254) 968-9322
B.A., Tarleton State University, 1998
M.A., Tarleton State University, 2001
Dr. Brian M FehlerDr. Brian M Fehler
Assistant Professor
Email: fehler@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 318
Phone: (254) 968-9036
B.A., Texas Wesleyan University, 1999
M.A., Texas Christian University, 2001
Ph.D., Texas Christian University, 2005

Research Interests: History of rhetoric, "New" rhetoric, History of composition pedagogy

Ms. Mary Lanell GonzalesMs. Mary Lanell Gonzales
Assistant Professor
Email: gonzales@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 314
Phone: (254) 968-9280
B.A., Tarleton State University, 1992
M.A., Tarleton State University, 1994
Mr. William H Jones, Jr.Mr. William H Jones, Jr.
Assistant Professor
Email: wjones@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 311
Phone: (254) 968-9284
B.A., Tarleton State University, 1994
M.A., Tarleton State University, 1996
Ms. Benedda M. KonvickaMs. Benedda M. Konvicka
Assistant Professor
Email: bkonvicka@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 336
Phone: (254) 968-9286
B.A., Texas Woman's University, 1969
M.A., Northern Arizona University, 1983
Mr. Charles N. LillyMr. Charles N. Lilly
Assistant Professor
Email: lilly@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 324
Phone: (254) 968-9323
B.A., North Texas State University, 1982
M.A., North Texas State University, 1987
Ms. Katherine LincolnMs. Katherine Lincoln
Assistant Professor
Email: klincoln@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 333
Phone: (254) 968-9043
B.A., The University of Texas at Austin, 1981
M.A., University of Houston, 1985
Dr. Bertha Cecilia Marrugo- PuelloDr. Bertha Cecilia Marrugo- Puello
Assistant Professor
Email: mpuello@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 306
Phone: 254-968-9324
Ms. Minerva M. McCutchenMs. Minerva M. McCutchen
Instructor
Email: mccutchen@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 320
Phone: (254) 968-9042
B.A., University of Mary Hardin Baylor, 1994
M.A., Tarleton State University, 1996
Dr. Kathleen A. MollickDr. Kathleen A. Mollick
Associate Professor
Email: kmollick@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 329
Phone: (254) 968-9037

AAS, Everett Community College, 1985
B.A., Western Washington University, 1987
B.A.Ed., Eastern Washington University, 1996
M.A., Tarleton State University, 2000
Ph.D., Texas Woman's University, 2007

Research Interests: Presidential/political rhetoric, History of rhetoric, History of composition pedagogy, American popular culture

Ms. Alice A NewsomeMs. Alice A Newsome
Assistant Professor
Email: anewsom@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 338
Phone: (254) 968-9026

B.A., East Texas State University, 1981
M.Ed., Tarleton State University, 1985

Ms. Esther R. OtwellMs. Esther R. Otwell
Assistant Professor
Email: otwell@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 334
Phone: (254) 968-9318

AA, Tarrant County Junior College, 1969
B.A., Texas Christian University, 1971
M.A., University of Texas at Arlington, 1974

Dr. Moumin M. QuaziDr. Moumin M. Quazi
Associate Professor
Email: quazi@tarleton.edu
Office: O.A. Grant 337
Phone: (254) 968-9283
B.F.A, Radio/TV/Film, Texas Christian University
M.A., Biblical Studies, Dallas Theological Seminary
M.A., English, University of North Texas
Ph.D., English, University of North Texas

Teaching Interests: Critical Theory, Intro to Literature, Classical Literature, 19th and 20th Century British Lit

Research Interests: Postcolonial Theory, Salman Rushdie, South Asian Literature and Culture Studies

Ms. Carolyn RicheyMs. Carolyn Richey
Instructor
Email: richey@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 317
Phone: 254-968-9511
Dr. Marilyn RobitailleDr. Marilyn Robitaille
Associate Professor
Email: robitaille@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 310
Phone: (254) 968-9281

B.A., Tarleton State University, 1973
M.A., Middlebury College, 1979
Ph.D., Texas Woman's University, 1995

Research Interests: Eighteenth-Century British literature, English language-arts pedagogy, Film studies,Editing and publication

Dr. B. Mark ShipmanDr. B. Mark Shipman
Professor
Email: shipman@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 316
Phone: (254) 968-9035

B.S., Tarleton State University, 1978
MBA, Tarleton State University, 1980
MAT, Tarleton State University, 1988
Ph.D., University of North Texas, 1994

Research Interests: American literature, British literature since 1700, Wordsworth romanticism

Mr. Burton D. SmithMr. Burton D. Smith
Assistant Professor
Email: bsmith@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 308
Phone: (254) 968-9319
B.A., Southern Methodist University, 1969
M.S., Naval Post-Graduate School, 1982
M.A., University of Texas-San Antonio, 1993
Mr. Benjamin M. SwordMr. Benjamin M. Sword
Assistant Professor
Email: sword@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 330
Phone: (254) 968-9038
B.A., Howard Payne University, 2002
M.A., Tarleton State University, 2005
Dr. Marcy L TanterDr. Marcy L Tanter
Associate Professor
Email: tanter@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 331
Phone: (254) 968-9282

B.A., University of Massachusetts, Amherst, 1986
M.A., University of South California, Columbia
Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst, 1996

Research Interests: Research Interest -Post -1700 to pre-1925 American literature, African American literature, Emily Dickinson

Ms. Andrea ThompsonMs. Andrea Thompson
Instructor
Email: athompson@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 321
Phone: 254-968-9892
Ms. Molly ThorntonMs. Molly Thornton
Instructor
Email: thornton@tarleton.edu
Office: OAG 307
Phone: 254-968-9025
Mr. Edward P. Tober, Jr.Mr. Edward P. Tober, Jr.
Assistant Professor
Email: tober@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 335
Phone: (254) 968-9285
B.A., Tarleton State University, 1988
MAT, Tarleton State University, 1990
Dr. Ivelisse UrbánDr. Ivelisse Urbán
Associate Professor
Email: urban@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 323
Phone: (254) 968-9829

BBA, University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras
MBA, Syracuse University, 1987
MA, SUNY-Albany, 1991
PhD, New York University, 2001

Research Interests: Poetic Theory, Philosophical Approaches to Literature, Modernismo.

Dr. Mallory R. YoungDr. Mallory R. Young
Professor
Email: myoung@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 322
Phone: (254) 968-9041
B.A., University of Texas at Austin, 1974
Ph.D., State University of New York at Buffalo, 1979

Research Interests: Comparative literature, British literature, women's literature and popular culture.

Adjuncts
Dr. Elson BondDr. Elson Bond
Adjunct Faculty
Email: ebond@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 304
Phone: 254-968-9830
Ms. Marsha DeckerMs. Marsha Decker
Adjunct Faculty
Email: decker@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 210c
Phone: 254-968-9327
Mr. Stephen DillardMr. Stephen Dillard
Adjunct Faculty
Email: dillard@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 210c
Phone: 254-968-9327
Mr. James (Mike) FraleyMr. James (Mike) Fraley
Graduate Laboratory Assistant II
Email: james.fraley@go.tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 210
Phone: 254-968-1814
Ms. Barbara Godinez- MartinezMs. Barbara Godinez- Martinez
Adjunct Faculty
Email: godinez@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 327
Phone: 254-968-9039
Ms. Joyce GorganMs. Joyce Gorgan
Adjunct Faculty
Email: gorgan@tarleton.edu
Office: Waco Campus
Phone: 254-968-9039
Ms. Melanie HaasMs. Melanie Haas
Adjunct Faculty
Email: mhaas@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 304
Phone: 254-968-9830
Ms. Chelsae HayMs. Chelsae Hay
Graduate Teaching Assistant II
Email: chelsae.hay@go.tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 210
Phone: 254-968-1814
Ms. Alexa HernandezMs. Alexa Hernandez
Graduate Teaching Assistant II
Email: alexa.hernandez@go.tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 210
Phone: 254-968-1814
Ms. Lisa HoweMs. Lisa Howe
Adjunct Faculty
Email: howe.frogordog@gmail.com
Office: OA Grant 327
Phone: 254-968-9039
Dr. Jennifer LaddDr. Jennifer Ladd
Adjunct Faculty
Email: ladd@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 327
Phone: 254-968-9039
Dr. Barbara McGregorDr. Barbara McGregor
Adjunct Faculty
Email: bmcgregor@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 313
Phone: 254-968-9750
Ms. Stephanie MillerMs. Stephanie Miller
Adjunct Faculty
Email: stephanierosenquist@yahoo.com
Office: OA Grant 304
Phone: 254-968-9830
Ms. Carolyn Ordiway-ThiemMs. Carolyn Ordiway-Thiem
Graduate Assistant Teacher II
Email: carolyn.ordiwaythiem@go.tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 210
Phone: 254-968-1814
Mr. Landon PoolMr. Landon Pool
Graduate Laboratory Assistant !
Email: landon.pool@go.tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 210
Phone: 254-968-1814
Ms. Dondi RatliffMs. Dondi Ratliff
Graduate Laboratory Assistant I
Email: dondi.ratliff@go.tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 327
Phone: 254-968-9039
Ms. Keri SchaeferMs. Keri Schaefer
Adjunct Faculty
Email: schaefer@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 304
Phone: 254-968-9830
Ms. Sarah SnyderMs. Sarah Snyder
Graduate Laboratory Assistant I
Email: sarah.snyder@go.tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 210
Phone: 254-968-1814
Ms. Lisa Thomas-McNewMs. Lisa Thomas-McNew
Adjunct Faculty
Email: thomasmcnew@tarleton.edu
Office: OA Grant 304
Phone: 254-968-9830