Skip to page content
Return to Top

Faculty and Staff

Curriculum & Instruction
Dr. M. Ann Calahan, Ph.D.Dr. M. Ann Calahan, Ph.D.
Department Head/Professor
Email: acalahan@tarleton.edu
Office: Howell 320G
Phone: 254-968-9096
Ph.D., Texas A&M University, M.Ed., Tarleton State University, B.S., Tarleton State University

Teaching Interests: Teacher Education, Teacher Preparation

Dr. Credence BakerDr. Credence Baker
Assistant Professor
Email: cbaker@tarleton.edu
Office: Tarleton Center 131
Phone: 254-968-9050

Ph.D., University of North Texas; M.Ed., Tarleton State University; B.S., Tarleton State University

Advises: Instructional Design & Technology; Technology Applications; and Technology Director Concentration Areas

Teaching Interests: Instructional/Educational Technology

Research Interests: Instructional/Educational technology and it's uses/impact on learning; online and hybrid learning; teaching effectiveness; professional development

Dr. Melissa Roberts BeckerDr. Melissa Roberts Becker
Assistant Professor
Email: becker@tarleton.edu
Office: Howell 101A
Phone: 254-968-9941

BS, Howard Payne University, 1981; University of Southern Mississippi, 1985; EdD, Baylor University, 2000.

Advises: Elementary Education Concentration Area

Research Interests: Brain-based teaching and learnin,g 21st century learning skills, Integration of technology in teaching and learning, Parent involvement in education, Content area projects (math, science, arts); Curriculum Instruction and Design Research Involving Classroom Practice Attitudes/Values of Educators

Dr. Anita CastanedaDr. Anita Castaneda
Assistant Professor
Email: castaneda@tarleton.edu
Office: Hickman 311, Ft. Worth, TX
Phone: 817-717-3692
Ph.D., Texas Woman's University, M.Ed., Texas Woman's University, B.S., Texas Woman's University

Teaching Interests: Reading Strategies, Educating Bilingual/ESL Students

Dr. Susan ErwinDr. Susan Erwin
Assistant Professor
Email: erwin@tarleton.edu
Office: Hickman 316, Fort Worth
Phone: 817-717-3318
Dr. Randy FordDr. Randy Ford
Associate Professor and Coordinator
Email: rford@tarleton.edu
Office: Hickman, Fort Worth
Phone: 817-732-7300
Dr. James GentryDr. James Gentry
Assistant Professor
Email: gentry@tarleton.edu
Office: Howell 305
Phone: 254-968-0701

Bachelor of Science, Texas A&M - Texarkana

Master of Science, Texas A&M - Texarkana

Doctor of Education, Texas A&M - Commerce

       Major: Reading

Teaching Interests: Special Education, Pedagogy, Content Area Literacy, Reading, and Assessment.

Research Interests: Assistive Technology, Learning Disabilities, Textbooks, Electronic Publishing, Digital Storytelling.

Dr. Stephen HarrisDr. Stephen Harris
Associate Professor
Email: sharris@tarleton.edu
Office: MCC - LA 106
Phone: 254-299-8838
Ed.D., University of North Texas, M.Ed., Tarleton State University, B.S., Tarleton State University

Teaching Interests: Teacher recruitment, training, and induction, Teacher attrition, Military dependent achievement,

Dr. Laurie HawkeDr. Laurie Hawke
Associate Professor
Email: lhawke@tarleton.edu
Office: Howell 310
Phone: 254-968-9810
Ph.D., University of Arizona, M.Ed., University of Arizona, B.S., University of Arizona

Teaching Interests: Professionalism, Professional Development

Dr. Holly LambDr. Holly Lamb
Professor
Email: lamb@tarleton.edu
Office: Howell 108
Phone: 254-968-9818
Ph.D., Florida State University, M.Ed., University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana, B.S., University of South Alabama

Teaching Interests: Early Literacy, Writing Process in K-8 Classrooms, Using 6+1 Trait Writing in 2-8 Classrooms, Working with Students from Poverty

Dr. Bill LarmerDr. Bill Larmer
Professor
Email: larmer@tarleton.edu
Office: Howell 101B
Phone: 254-968-9367
Ed.D., Texas Tech University, M.Ed., Texas Tech University, B.B.A., Texas Tech University

Teaching Interests: Alternative Certification, Professional Development of Educators

Dr. Laurie McAdamsDr. Laurie McAdams
Instructor
Email: mcadams@tarleton.edu
Office: Howell 306
Phone: 254-968-0530

B.S. – University of Central Florida; M.Ed. – University of Central Florida; Graduate Certificate: Teaching Writing Grades K-12 – University of Central Florida; Ed.D. – Tarleton State University; Texas State Certifications: EC-6/ELL; 4-8 Generalist; Master Reading Teacher; Reading Specialist

Research Interests: Literacy

Dr. Rebecca MillerDr. Rebecca Miller
Assistant Professor
Email: rmiller@tarleton.edu
Office: Howell 307
Phone: 254-968-9903
Dr. Jan ParhamDr. Jan Parham
Assistant Professor and Coordinator - TMATE Killeen
Email: parham@tarleton.edu
Office: Killeen ISD
Phone: 254-526-4914
Dr. Sherian L. SmithDr. Sherian L. Smith
Associate Professor
Email: ssmith@tarleton.edu
Office: Hickman, Fort Worth
Phone: 817-732-7300
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin, M.Ed., Texas Woman's University, B.S., Texas Woman's University

Teaching Interests: Parental involvement in schools, Social skills and students with disabilities, Raising academic achievement for students with disabilities

Dr. Diane SopkoDr. Diane Sopko
Assistant Professor
Email: sopko@tarleton.edu
Office: Hickman, Fort Worth
Phone: 817-732-7300
Dr. Diane TaylorDr. Diane Taylor
Associate Professor
Email: dtaylor@tarleton.edu
Office: Howell 311
Phone: 254-968-9821
Ph.D., University of North Texas, M.Ed., University of North Texas, B.S., Tarleton State University

Teaching Interests: Assessment of Students with Disabilities, Teacher Attrition with Special Education, Effective Instruction of Students with Disabilities, Teachers as Researchers